Mississippi Mud Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe for ages! I made a similar cake 'back in the day' for church potlucks. It was always a big hit and goes far as it is very rich. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and everyone that ate any wanted the recipe. It is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is exactly the "old Fashioned taste" I was looking for. I had never made "mud" myself,until now, but this is exactly how I remembered it tasting! Exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
yum! Was gone within a half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nookerbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Awesome Cake, made it for a family get together and everyone loved it. The only thing i changed was substituting pecans for the walnuts. And I will probably only bake it 30 minutes the next time i make it so it will have more of a cake like texture. But loved the taste YUM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
These really should be called mississippi mud brownies. They are so dense and thick - just like the perfect brownie. My boyfriend and I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I may use the base "cake" part as my regular brownie recipe. Thank you so much! Fabulous dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I love this cake. It seemed a little more like a brownie. It didn't rise very high but gosh it is a great sweet. I might bake it a less then the 35 minutes. I left out the nuts because some people just don't like nuts and it is wonderful without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I won second place in a front porch decorating contest at The Deli Man and the Cake Lady here in Chattanooga. I looked up this recipe, gave it to the baker, she baked it and WOW!! is it delicious!! Almost decadent. I felt like Emeril when I first tasted this cake. I'll continue to look for more recipes on this web sight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GINGER08
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Loved it! First time making this type of cake. I did something wrong though and the icing was too crunchy, so next time Ill just use hot fudge instead. Great with whipped cream on top too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
i think an empty disk tells you how good the recipe is. i don't like marshmallows but i got rave reviews. it is very important to add the fluff and icing while the cake is hot. a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States