Mississippi Mud Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Awesome Cake, made it for a family get together and everyone loved it. The only thing i changed was substituting pecans for the walnuts. And I will probably only bake it 30 minutes the next time i make it so it will have more of a cake like texture. But loved the taste YUM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
These really should be called mississippi mud brownies. They are so dense and thick - just like the perfect brownie. My boyfriend and I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I may use the base "cake" part as my regular brownie recipe. Thank you so much! Fabulous dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and everyone that ate any wanted the recipe. It is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is really more like a brownie than a cake. It is pretty dense, really chewy... and really fabulous! I'd definitely make it again. I made this recipe exactly as noted, except I also ground up some Oreos and added on top the icing, to give the "mud" cake a "dirt" topping. I also added some gummy worms on top just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
4.5 stars! But three things: 1) I forgot the nuts; 2) I made it the night before and served it cold -- which I loved; and 3) I was appalled by the amount of sugar in this recipe and had to reduce it somehow. I ended up cutting back the amount of powdered sugar in the recipe by a full cup (down to 2c), and it was perfect. I loved the ooey-gooeyness (sp?) of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I have been searching for this recipe, it is very close to one my grandma used to make! Thank You, it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I love this cake. It seemed a little more like a brownie. It didn't rise very high but gosh it is a great sweet. I might bake it a less then the 35 minutes. I left out the nuts because some people just don't like nuts and it is wonderful without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great recipe. I made this the first time last May for my son's teachers. I didn't try it since it was a gift but they loved it. However, the icing seemed thin with lumps of butter. Apparently I didn't mix it long enough. So when I made it again I let it mix for about 2-3 minutes on medium speed and it turned out perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Oh my goodness! This is the one! If you are looking for amazing ooey gooey goodness, this is perfect. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This cake was very good. I made it for my sister's birthday. My three year old daughter helped. We had a lot of fun and the cake tasted great. It is a very sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States