Mississippi Mud Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I USED THIS RECIPE 4 YEARS AGO AND EVERYONE LOVED IT FOR THANKSGIVING. I DIND'T MAKE IT THE NEXT YEAR AND I HEARD ABOUT IT. SO IVE HAD TO MAKE IT EVER SINCE THEN. INSTANT HOLLIDAY TRADITION! AND FOR THE PEOPLE THAT SAY ITS TOO DRY TRY ABOUT ONE THIRD CUP VEGETABLE OIL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Yes indeed...this is a very rich cake. I love chocolate and marshmallow cream and they pair up perfectly in this dessert. My son loves sweets as much as I do, but he can only eat a small portion of this...as it is very rich!! If you find your icing difficult to spread...zap it in the microwave for a few seconds, and it'll spread like butter. Thanks Amy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Quite good. I had a recipe similar, but it disappeared; this is much better! I didn't use as much marshmallow fluff as the recipe called for, and it was HARD to spread the chocolate frosting over the marshmallow, but never mind, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
This turned out very dry, even though I only baked it for 25 minutes. Shouldn't it have some liquid in it besides the eggs? Don't know what I did wrong, but wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I can't believe this recipe isn't more popular! My mom has had this recipe forever, and it's wonderful! I added 1/2 tsp salt to the batter and used a 1/2 c cocoa in it (i like more chocolate flavor). The marshmallow creme in the small jar is 7 oz, so you'll have to buy 2 for the whole recipe. I baked this at 325 for exactly 35 minutes, and it came out perfect. This is one of my hubby's favorite, and it never dissappoints! Chocolately, marshmallowy, and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
I took this to a luncheon and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
Very good! My family and friends really enjoyed it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Best Mississippi Mud Cake recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I make this cake whenever we have guests. I add about 1/2 cup of pecans to the icing also. Make sure you have some vanilla ice cream on hand because some people need the ice cream to cut the richness of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is a favorite of my sister-in-law. Whenever she visits I know I have to make this. If you like a cake that is rich "MAKE THIS".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States