Mississippi Mud Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Simply delicious and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Followed the recipe to the letter, except for subbing Can't Believe It's Not for the butter. (Kind of like ordering a Diet Coke with fast food. I know.) Like other reviewers, I second just spreading the marshmallows on top -- just to make it look prettier, because I mixed the mallows in the batter and now my brownies look a little, er, stretchy. Also, really only make half the recipe as posted. Which leads to my next point: the poster wasn't kidding about these being rich. You'll really only eat a 1x1 inch piece before feeling like your head might pop from a sugar overdose -- this is not a dessert that goes quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I will never make this again.. Very gummy and cake-like.. Not at all what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I took the advice of another user and halved the sugar since a lot of reviews said they were too sweet. I don't know if that's exactly was went wrong, but these brownies came out bland and hard as bricks! I took them to a potluck and was embarassed to say I had made them. Certainly won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
My husband made these and we thought they were AMAZING! We had to put them into the fridge over night, so we could cut them in squares. When we cut them an hour after we made them they weren't hard enough, we ended up eating them with spoons in a bowl. Still very good! The next day they were firm, but still very moist and they tasted great! The sweetness was perfect for us. ANOTHER DAY: So we decided to put the marshmallows on top instead of mixed in. DON'T DO IT!! It didn't work well for us. Mixed in is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe was good. Left out the nuts due to allergies. I did omit 1 cup powdered sugar from the frosting. It would've been way to sweet otherwise. Not my favorite brownie recipe, but my father-in-law said that these were the best brownies he has had in a long time and he is the king of sweets here, so he would know. I'll be keeping this recipe just for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made this recipe for the holidays. Very disappointed. I baked longer than the directions called for. Still didn't seem done. Also, the picture shows like a marshmallow center, but that can't happen then the marshmallows are mixed in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMACUPCAKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Liked but didn't love. I decided to not mix the marshmallows into the batter, but put them ontop of the baked bottom. That worked out fine and so did the topping but for some reason my bottom did not bake entirely so I was left with mushy uncooked goop. I even baked for 5 minutes longer than needed. Not sure what happened. Maybe someone else has a pointer for me so I can give them another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I make this for my work. They call it "chocolate crack" LOL It is so sinful. I have changed the recipe slightly but the main thing is I only use Ghiraldelli chocolate and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States