Miss Betty's Super Quick Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Love these! Wonderfully light and tender rolls and so QUICK! I didn't have self-rising flour and used the substitution of: 1 Cup all purpose flour + 1 tsp baking powder + 1/2 tsp salt....turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I have to agree with other reviewers here: this recipe by itself makes pretty bland rolls. But it still deserves 4 stars because it only needs a couple of herbs added to make a delicious and easy made dinner roll. Rosemary, oregano, garlic, ... there are no limits. I did not have self-rising flour but used 1 cup all-purpose flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt instead. Thanks for this great basic recipe, Miss Betty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I'm so happy to see this recipe on this site! This is the easiest and most delicious roll recipe I have ever tried. They come out moist and sooo good! They always dissapear from the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
These rolls were a very light biscuit texture. My children and I loved them! I did make one change because I was out of mayo, I used 2 T. ranch dressing instead, which gave them a light ranch flavor (very good!) Since I don't use self-rising flour I used the Betty Crocker substitution of 1 cup flour, 1 1/2 t. baking powder and 1/2 t. salt. I will make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Lilacs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I am not sure why people are complaining that they are plain. What are they suppose to taste like. Well our family loved them. My DH and kids all ate them. We made it to go with our beef stroganof and green beans and it was great. I am not sure what people are looking for when they need all those spices. My husband thinks it must be a main meal. We use our rolls for a light side. The only thing is that this is more like a bisquet than a roll. But is sure tastes good. It would be great as bisquets and gravy. Sorry about spelling here. No spell check ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made these for lunch today to go with tomato soup. I added 1 tsp. of garlic powder, 1 tsp. of crushed rosemary and 1 tsp. of italian seasoning and they came out great. These are so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I like this recipe. It's pretty fast and easy to make, but I always add something like grated chedar cheese, bacon, roasted garlic or something because otherwise they are pretty bland for my taste. I like the biscuit consistency and I make them to eat with soups =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I tried this recipe because it looked so easy and because the reviews were so good. I really didn't expect them to be very good. They are really good. My husband gave me a thumbs up and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by swirly_luv
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I already made 2 batches today! I only fill them up halfway in the muffin cup, and it ended up to get me 8. I also put jam in the middle, and my second batch had cheese and ham in it. I added a little more water (not milk) to the batter, so it came out more muffin like. The only thing is that I baked it longer, since there's more moisture in the batter. But definitly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I added garlic powder and cheddar cheese to mine and baked for 20 min and they still didn't brown up. But they were delicious. I love the gummy sort of textureand they were very light. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States