Miss Betty's 24 Hour Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This is the same recipe that my mom and I use for special occasions. We use grated cheddar cheese and for the seasonings that somone missed in the previous review, we mix an envelope of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix with 1 Cup Mayonaisse and 1 Cup Sour Cream. It makes all the difference in flavor. This is really a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winters, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This salad is great, EXCEPT, there is no seasoning whatsoever. If it had salt and pepper, lemon pepper, seasoned salt or something it would REALLY be outstanding. It was good but rather blah. Seemed like something small but important was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
I made this for a graduation party and it was a BIG hit... I did make a layer of hard boiled eggs instead of just a few on the top. I did not use use the onion just b/c I am not a fan. Great salad and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This salad was yummy. Made two containers from one recipe so that one could stay in the cooler at the cookout. Didn't stay there long, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was way better than I expected! I added salt and pepper and a tsp of lemon juice to the mayo before spreading it on. I think this helped to make the sauce a little thinner, which I liked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I layered vegetables that I had in the refrigerator and used iceberg lettuce with romaine lettuce. I did not use Parmesan cheese but cheddar. I put in ranch dressing mix with the mayo and sour cream on top. This recipe is great to use with what you have on hand and mix it up. I made it in the morning and served a early dinner. I was great the next 2 days without being soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This had very good flavors- I did add salt and pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe. My only recommendation would be to put it in a low shallow dish so that the dressing spreads out across the salad- I put mine in a taller bowl thinking it would be prettier but was left with plain lettuce at the bottom that went to waste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I got this recipe from a co-worker a few years ago. Every time I make it for potlucks at work, it vanishes. 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is very pretty (and easy and economical) individually plated on clear glass plates for a bridal or baby shower. For a more manly version....my husband enjoys taking the salad and rolling in a tortilla for a wrap type sandwich !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Love these types of salads, especially for a party. Used turkey bacon, red onion, cukes, tomatoes, shredded carrots, shredded purple cabbage, peas, green peppers, used Splenda sugar substitute instead of regular sugar (2 packets as used for coffee), 1/2 c low fat mayo, and one (6oz) container of fat free plain yogurt, and a splash of cidar vinegar for the dressing. Also topped with reduced fat pepper jack cheese. So good and the leftovers are even better. Great party or pot luck salad made the night before. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States