Miss Betty's 24 Hour Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
I made this for a graduation party and it was a BIG hit... I did make a layer of hard boiled eggs instead of just a few on the top. I did not use use the onion just b/c I am not a fan. Great salad and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This salad was yummy. Made two containers from one recipe so that one could stay in the cooler at the cookout. Didn't stay there long, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This salad is great, EXCEPT, there is no seasoning whatsoever. If it had salt and pepper, lemon pepper, seasoned salt or something it would REALLY be outstanding. It was good but rather blah. Seemed like something small but important was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This is the same recipe that my mom and I use for special occasions. We use grated cheddar cheese and for the seasonings that somone missed in the previous review, we mix an envelope of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix with 1 Cup Mayonaisse and 1 Cup Sour Cream. It makes all the difference in flavor. This is really a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winters, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I got this recipe from a co-worker a few years ago. Every time I make it for potlucks at work, it vanishes. 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was way better than I expected! I added salt and pepper and a tsp of lemon juice to the mayo before spreading it on. I think this helped to make the sauce a little thinner, which I liked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This had very good flavors- I did add salt and pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe. My only recommendation would be to put it in a low shallow dish so that the dressing spreads out across the salad- I put mine in a taller bowl thinking it would be prettier but was left with plain lettuce at the bottom that went to waste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I layered vegetables that I had in the refrigerator and used iceberg lettuce with romaine lettuce. I did not use Parmesan cheese but cheddar. I put in ranch dressing mix with the mayo and sour cream on top. This recipe is great to use with what you have on hand and mix it up. I made it in the morning and served a early dinner. I was great the next 2 days without being soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is very pretty (and easy and economical) individually plated on clear glass plates for a bridal or baby shower. For a more manly version....my husband enjoys taking the salad and rolling in a tortilla for a wrap type sandwich !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very pretty salad! The family loved it, in fact my 13y.o. decided she would skip the rest of the meal in favor of this salad! It does need salt and pepper and I was generous in adding these to the mayonnaise dressing. I see this making many appearances at summer barbecues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States