Miss Beth's Yoghurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Good good good!!! This is so versatile and quick! I love messimg with recipes and this a cake you can do that with. I made this maple-flavored with maple flavor extract and used brown sugar. I'm going to try this again different ways, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
This was very good! I love using yogurt, so this recipe peaked my interest. I ended up adding some salt and vanilla, out of habit. Then I took Beth's suggestion and added some orange marmalade, dried cranberries and some ginger. Excellent! Very moist! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Well, the first time I tried to make it, I forgot to add eggs! Needless to say, that version wasn't a success. But I tried it again, and I'm glad I did. It was a yummy moist cake that went perfect with our ice cream sundaes. Will make again; it's a great way to use up yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Such a great recipe! As a previous reviewer posted - so easy to modify and play with :) The modifications I made were as follows - 1) I used homemade yogurt, which has the consistency of Greek yogurt 2) Instead of the 1 C of white sugar, I used 1/2 C white sugar and 1/2 C brown sugar 3) I substituted apple sauce for the vegetable oil 4) just as a note - 0.25 oz yeast = 2.5 tsp yeast, which I used. 5) For additional spice, I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice, and 1/8 tsp cloves. For aesthetic appeal, I spiraled honey over the batter (which is quite thick so the honey doesn't sink in or anything), and the finished product had a pretty top :) Lots of changes, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
The only changes I've made to this recipe is that I've used margarine instead of oil and added 1.5tsp of vanilla. This recipe isn't very specific about how much you should beat the ingredients, which is really important for the texture! Mine came out WAY too dense (didn't beat enough?)... I also used large eggs, and it was WAY too eggy. The sweetness was good just right, not too sweet, but I could still taste the baking powder (I used 1tsp). Overall, the amount of ingredients is right (for 3 small eggs), but this recipe should give more directions than just 'mix everything until combined'. Also, definitely do the variations because it's rather bland, even with the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Judging from the recipe as written, it would have been very bland, thus 3 stars. I added cinnamon, vanilla and ground cloves, as well as replaced 1/2 the sugar with packed brown sugar, as another reviewer suggested. I will say that the yeast in this recipe, IMO, serves no purpose because a yeast needs time to activate. The next time I make this, I will replace the yeast with 1/2 t. baking soda that will react with the yogurt to create pockets of air and give this recipe it's cakey-ness. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
i like it. So easy to make but so yummy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Wow, sooooo yummy and really easy to make! You really just dump all the ingredients into the pan and bake. So good, haha. Altho I didn't really understand the whole 13" round pan, and I just baked it in a 9" round pan, which was definitely big enough. I also did the cinnamon version, and it was sooo good. I also added a little more yogurt and less sugar, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINNABUNNY09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I altered the recipe slightly, as well. I used 2 eggs instead of 3, added a little vanilla, used 1/2 tsp of baking powder instead of yeast and split the 1/2 cup vegetable into 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup margarine. I also added the zest of a lemon, and it turned out a wonderfully light lemony dream. To make it into more of a dessert I made a lemon glaze by heating a tablespoon of margarine, a tsp of vanilla and the juice of the lemon I zested over low heat. Then I dumped in a bunch of confectioner's sugar until I got the consistency I wanted. I can't wait to try other versions of this recipe! Maybe next time I'll add dried cranberries or cherries and almond slivers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwinS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
LOVED the simplicity of it for breakfast. Very good. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States