Miss Beth's Yoghurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
This was very good! I love using yogurt, so this recipe peaked my interest. I ended up adding some salt and vanilla, out of habit. Then I took Beth's suggestion and added some orange marmalade, dried cranberries and some ginger. Excellent! Very moist! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Good good good!!! This is so versatile and quick! I love messimg with recipes and this a cake you can do that with. I made this maple-flavored with maple flavor extract and used brown sugar. I'm going to try this again different ways, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Well, the first time I tried to make it, I forgot to add eggs! Needless to say, that version wasn't a success. But I tried it again, and I'm glad I did. It was a yummy moist cake that went perfect with our ice cream sundaes. Will make again; it's a great way to use up yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This recipes was a pretty big hit in my house. I didn't have any vegtable oil, so I used Canola and it turned out very well , the flavored yoghurt makes it really nice. I used icing sugar instead of bakers, and it was the perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lennoxville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Wow, sooooo yummy and really easy to make! You really just dump all the ingredients into the pan and bake. So good, haha. Altho I didn't really understand the whole 13" round pan, and I just baked it in a 9" round pan, which was definitely big enough. I also did the cinnamon version, and it was sooo good. I also added a little more yogurt and less sugar, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINNABUNNY09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Moist and rich, kinda' like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
The only changes I've made to this recipe is that I've used margarine instead of oil and added 1.5tsp of vanilla. This recipe isn't very specific about how much you should beat the ingredients, which is really important for the texture! Mine came out WAY too dense (didn't beat enough?)... I also used large eggs, and it was WAY too eggy. The sweetness was good just right, not too sweet, but I could still taste the baking powder (I used 1tsp). Overall, the amount of ingredients is right (for 3 small eggs), but this recipe should give more directions than just 'mix everything until combined'. Also, definitely do the variations because it's rather bland, even with the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This was a good recipe-very quick and easy to make. The only thing is that i found that they took a while to bake, and they were a bit plain. I used fruit yogurt and put them in muffin cups to quicken the cooking time. Will definitely use this recipe again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This recipe is perfect for someone on a diet. Just substitute the sugar for splenda, and you have a perfect low cal treat. I made these into mini-bundts so that I could eat mine plain, and those not on a diet can top however they want. Didn't quite get 5 stars because the texture is a touch dense. I will sub the yeast for baking soda as mentioned in step one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
My only complaint was that it was a little dense. It has a great flavor, though. I had it warmed up with berries and a scoop of yogurt on top for breakfast - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States