Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
It's better taste with tofu, for healthy! And we, japanese cook miso soup with various vesitables, for example, tofu & onion,spinach, or taro & carrot. From Yuko in Japan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Honest - this is the real thing. The secret is the Dashi granules. I'm a teacher and had a Japanese student bring me the box his mom used to make their miso soup. Had to go to a Japanese market to get it - but it was worth it. They do sell miso with dashi flavoring - which I used. I used soft tofu, and added some sliced ginger while heating the soup. It was just like my local restaurant - and I'm so glad I can make it cheaper than the $1.50 they charge for a small bowl. Will fix it often! Miso is supposed to be very healthy. High sodium, though. The market sold low-sodium miso - may try that when I'm out of the current one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
508 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Really great miso soup! We had enjoyed a delicious miso soup at a Sushi restaurant in Cleveland,OH and I was trying to come close to that. We actually thought this one was better. I used a red miso paste, firm tofu, green onions, and 4 thinly sliced Shitake mushrooms. Will be making this often... Oh, I bought the miso paste and dashi from Asiangrocer.com since our small town grocery stores don't carry these items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I suggest using firm tofu (it is easier to handle) and letting it drain first. Cut it in half and let it sit on some paper towels for a bit before you use it. This allows the tofu to better absorb the flavor of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This recipe can be easily adapted to whatever's in season, or in the fridge. If you're a potato lover, a simple but very comforting potato version - in the quantity of dashi given here simmer thinly sliced wedges of potato (approximatly 2 medium potatoes, sliced 3 mm thick or so) and sliced onion (one small onion, cut in half vertically, and then into thin slices, again vertically). Simmer until tender, and then add miso just before turning off heat. Carrot, daikon, long onion (negi), spinach (add a minute or so before adding the miso) are other winter possiblities - add in any combination you prefer. I often add thinly sliced deep-fried tofu (abura-age in Japanese) to my winter miso soup - a common staple here in Japan, but perhaps not so readily available elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was a big hit! I could not find dashi anywhere, so substituted fish bouillon. I added fresh spinach and prawns before the tofu to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This had a nice taste but the silken tofu I used was too soft. I suggest a firm tofu. I also used a dashi that was MSG free. I think that is why it needed some salt for me. A really easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Easy recipe. Broth was excellent. I'd use firm tofu next time, as that's what I've always had at the restaurants and the silken's texture made me cringe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
this is a great soup! we love japanese food but found most of the recipes are hard to follow. this is simple and taste just like the one you get in the restaurant. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I have a Japanese neighbor and she stated that you cannot just wisk in the miso, you need to put the miso in a very fine strainer, put the strainer half way in the water and press miso thru with a spoon. Miso has some left over bits and pieces that for some reason does not ever melt. This is supposed to be disposed of. The second time I did as my neighbor stated and it turned out better. She also gave me some bamboo roots to put in it. I also added tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States