Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
Tastes identical to miso soup you would buy at a restaurant. The measurements are just right! We love miso soup, but I have had a hard time getting the ingredients until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
this is a great soup! we love japanese food but found most of the recipes are hard to follow. this is simple and taste just like the one you get in the restaurant. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
It's better taste with tofu, for healthy! And we, japanese cook miso soup with various vesitables, for example, tofu & onion,spinach, or taro & carrot. From Yuko in Japan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1097 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Great recipe. I added a little ginger to the water during boiling. It gave it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Perfect! Just like the miso soup you get at Japanese restaurants - even my picky husband liked it. I don't know about the dashi granules, but I had bonito broth granules, which I used instead. I used white miso paste. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This recipe can be easily adapted to whatever's in season, or in the fridge. If you're a potato lover, a simple but very comforting potato version - in the quantity of dashi given here simmer thinly sliced wedges of potato (approximatly 2 medium potatoes, sliced 3 mm thick or so) and sliced onion (one small onion, cut in half vertically, and then into thin slices, again vertically). Simmer until tender, and then add miso just before turning off heat. Carrot, daikon, long onion (negi), spinach (add a minute or so before adding the miso) are other winter possiblities - add in any combination you prefer. I often add thinly sliced deep-fried tofu (abura-age in Japanese) to my winter miso soup - a common staple here in Japan, but perhaps not so readily available elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This recipe captured the flavor of the miso soups I've had in restaurants. I gave my 6-year-old some and after he tried the tofu he asked me why I put erasers in the soup! hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Easy recipe. Broth was excellent. I'd use firm tofu next time, as that's what I've always had at the restaurants and the silken's texture made me cringe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Wow, who knew it was so easy to make miso soup? I'm sure this will become a staple at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This tasted exactly like the miso soups I have eaten in restaurants and it was very simple to prepare. I will make this again if I can ever get back to the market where I found yellow miso paste and dashi granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States