Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This tastes just like the miso soup you would get at your local sushi place. It's so easy yet so flavorful. By the way I think dashi is actually the brand name similar to HonDashi not the actual ingredient because I went to a chinese/Japanese supermarket and the worker did not know what I was talking about I told him it was a fish stock which can be a water base like or sold as dried granules and he really couldn't help, but after looking in the spice aisle I found HonDashi which is (dashi) according to the recipe and a package just like Hondashi but a different name brand also the same thing. I used the yellow miso paste and it came out just like I wanted, restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent! Super easy to make. I used a mellow white miso, soft tofu instead of silken, and added shitake mushrooms. It doesn't look very exciting in print but has awesome flavor and is better than any miso soup I've had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
My children love this soup. Sometimes I add snow peas and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
not a huge fan but I used bottled miso bc i couldn't find some of the other ingredients so it was probably my error not the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is a go-to miso soup recipe Dashi granules make such a difference, it's worth ordering online from Amazon or somewhere if they're not found locally. Also, use unpasteurized miso paste (it's found in the refrigerated section) -- not that stuff called miso in the asian aisle next to the soy sauces! Not many stores carry it; Whole Foods does if you're lucky enough to have one close by. Again, this is so worth ordering online if you can't get it locally - superior taste plus health benefits! Miso Master and South River Miso are my top picks, and I like yellow or white the best, because they're less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Wow. This miso soup was perfect. Tasted exactly right. I also added some sliced mushrooms. Only thing I will do differently next time is get a slightly harder tofu. This soft tofu was a little too soft. Other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
made exactly how written, except I added some finely chopped mushrooms for more substance and it was delicious! Will make this more in the future! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I used white miso. Also added a generous amount of sliced mushrooms and doubled the green onions. I used firm tofu and prefer it diced very small to avoid a 'texture issue' for my husband. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
as new vegans we have miso soup at least 4x a week. i omit the dashi though. for variety we also will add spinach right before serving. or boil kale in the miso b4 adding the tofu. recently we started adding cooked rice or udon noodles to make it a heart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe to a T. Real easy to make. However my husband thought it was "too rich" and "fishy". I have to agree with him. Maybe too much dashi. Plus our house smelled like dashi broth for a while. Miso soup in our favorite sushi restaurant is so light and delicious. I think we'll stick to that. Some things are meant to be eaten outside of your home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States