Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I added dried seaweed instead of scallions and used firm tofu and it was just like what I'd expect from a Japanese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It gave the basics and I just needed to tweek it a bit. I wanted more soup so I made 5 C of water, 3 teas. dash, and 4 tbsp of miso. I also added dried kelp which added more flavor and a healthy ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
After adding the Dashi, I tasted the Miso paste before adding. It was low sodium, but still a bit salty. I only used 2 Tbs. Miso and it was enough. I added about a 1/2 cup of tofu and a 1/2 cup seaweed cut in about 1/2 in pieces along with the onion. This was delicious and light. Make sure you soak and rinse the seaweed if you use it. Made it again with thinly sliced celery and bamboo shoots, in addition to the green onion. I cut all of my ingredients thinly to keep the soup light and brothy. So simple, but made me look like I might actually know what I'm doing! lol Thanks Michelle Chen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Just made this today for lunch, very good. Added some thin sliced shiitake mushrooms (they were dried, just simmered them up a bit on the stove with just enough water to cover them). Also added some seasoned dried seaweed, ripped into 2" pieces. Didn't have any dashi, so I added some Katsuo Fumi Furikake (rice seasoning) to the mix, as it has shaved bonito in it. That last ingredient made it perfect! Very yummy, this will eaten at least once a week in an effort to eat a little better in 2014. Yeah, I know about the salt. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Nothing not to love about this recipe - the proportions are great and it's basic, so you can expand it in whatever way you wish. Add some protein in the form of chicken or shrimp, add more veggies, etc. Like more miso? Start with the prescribed amount here and go up if you like. A great starting point for anything miso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Well-worth the grocery store search for some of the ingredients. Loved it! Everyone found it to be very authentic and comforting on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
LOVE this! It tastes just like my fave Japanese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Delicious and so easy to make. I took some tips from others and added shiitake mushrooms and spinach. Better than any I have had in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
We thought it was wonderful. My son said it is just like the restaurant, but you get more tofu. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great! I put my ham bone in with the potatoes, cooked a while, then took all the meat off the bone, chopped it and returned it to the pot. This is my new potato soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States