Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Look no further! This is the delicious miso soup you get at Japanese restaurants :) If not better! Unfortunately for me I didn't have any green onions on hand (that weren't rotting anyway...) but it was still super delicious. It's all in the broth. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was so close to what I wanted it to be! I made a few small changes, and next time I will make a few more. The changes: rather than using granules, I made dashi from scratch using the Konbu Dashi recipe from this site. Next time, I will use firm tofu. That's what I usually buy and I find the silken to have an unpleasant texture. To sum up, use broth from scratch and firm tofu and you will be amazed at how easy and delicious this was. I used white miso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I would have given this more stars if it had seaweed in the recipe, and if it had more miso. We added the amount listed but it was bland. Next time we will put in more miso and it should be fine. We did add seaweed- just be sure you soak dried seaweed in water before you add it, or it will suck up all the water from your soup. Thank you for the recipe though, we will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
AWESOME!! I put a few more scallions, but it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Great as always! I didn't have dashi and my miso soup paste was a little on the spicy side due to what I picked up at the 99 Ranch market. I used a tiny bit of honey (we don't have sugar or oyster sauce currently) and soysauce in the process to substitute for a missing sweet and salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Tasted really good, but for those who are in college and don't have a kitchen, don't try using a griddle. Makes boiling water nearly impossible. I ended up using firm tofu instead of the silken because it was what was available and added a tad bit more miso but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is delicious! My husband's mother is Japanese and I am always trying to cook him traditional Japanese food. I actually added cooked somen noodles to this soup like they do at a local Hawaiian restaurant we like to eat at. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made this exactly as directed, apart from the dashi granules, I made my own dashi. My husband said it was better than at our local Japanese restaurant, I think it tasted the same. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
It was good. Next time I will used a little less dashi. I used a mild miso and firm tofu as others suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
WOW!!! I followed other suggestions and added a bunch of kale and mushrooms by sauteeing with olive oil and garlic first then adding the water and the dashi granules. This was so filling and delicious. During my quest to get the ingredients I almost bailed and just got instant Miso while at the Asian Market. I'm sooo glad I went homemade. It's a huge difference between instant and homemade. Yum..Yum..Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States