Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Made it for my husband when he's sick due to food poisoning. I added Udon noodle into it to make it a meal instead of just a light soup. It's great & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
pretty good. however if you think its not salty enough, just leave it be. if you add more miso paste it tastes very bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is an amazing recipe! Tastes better than all of the local Asian restaurants, in my opinion. I doubled the recipe and added extra firm Tofu, sliced Portabella Mushrooms, Roasted Seaweed, and Green Onions (added in that exact order with aprox 5 minutes between each addition)... I also added a little extra miso paste (white) for extra flavor. I was very pleased, as was my significant other... Very delicious, I highly recommend you give this a shot if you like Miso Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I loved this soup! For all those that are worried about salt and msg in your hondashi and miso paste - there are low sodium miso paste available through Amazon. I use a brand called Honzukuri that is pretty good. As for the Hondashi, I go to a sight called Redi-base and order a jar of their seafood stock. It still has a salt but no MSG and is a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
It was exactly how I expected after adding mushrooms and seaweed! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Authentic, good. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Super easy and quick! I added some chopped Kombu seaweed also. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made this soup for myself and it was delicious! Just as good if not better than any miso soup you can get at a restaurant. I added cut up portobello mushrooms for a little more to chew on, and it was good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
i boiled dried seaweed (for wrapping sushi rolls) and dried shredded squid (in lieu of the bonito) instead of using dashi granules, which i equated in my mind to powder bouillon which is pure salt and artificial ingredients. i also took the cue from other reviewers that recommended firm tofu instead of silken. this soup was great! just like the sushi restaurants here in okinawa :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I think when I added the Miso Paste I added too much because my husband said it turned out really strong, so I ended up adding a fifth cup of water to it and he absolutely loved this recipe. He's been deployed to Korea and says it's just like from there. We only used Firm Tofu (Silken) and green onions. The dashi took me a while to find at my local Asian Market because it was called Hondashi (Bonito Soup Stock). Just in case anyone else runs across the same problem. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States