Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Great as always! I didn't have dashi and my miso soup paste was a little on the spicy side due to what I picked up at the 99 Ranch market. I used a tiny bit of honey (we don't have sugar or oyster sauce currently) and soysauce in the process to substitute for a missing sweet and salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Tasted really good, but for those who are in college and don't have a kitchen, don't try using a griddle. Makes boiling water nearly impossible. I ended up using firm tofu instead of the silken because it was what was available and added a tad bit more miso but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is delicious! My husband's mother is Japanese and I am always trying to cook him traditional Japanese food. I actually added cooked somen noodles to this soup like they do at a local Hawaiian restaurant we like to eat at. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made this exactly as directed, apart from the dashi granules, I made my own dashi. My husband said it was better than at our local Japanese restaurant, I think it tasted the same. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
It was good. Next time I will used a little less dashi. I used a mild miso and firm tofu as others suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
WOW!!! I followed other suggestions and added a bunch of kale and mushrooms by sauteeing with olive oil and garlic first then adding the water and the dashi granules. This was so filling and delicious. During my quest to get the ingredients I almost bailed and just got instant Miso while at the Asian Market. I'm sooo glad I went homemade. It's a huge difference between instant and homemade. Yum..Yum..Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Awesome basic recipe! My favourite thing to add to this is enoki mushrooms. Fresh are better, but harder to find so canned works as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I loved it, but my fiance said it had too much salt (miso paste). I usually have to eat more salt than most people because I have low blood pressure so I trust that it would have been too salty for most. Other than that it had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eriset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ranson, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made this last night and it was great! Just like at the restaurants. I also added some kale to it and let it simmer a little bit longer to wilt the kale, and it turned out very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was awesome. So easy and delicious. I made it exactly the way the recipe called for. I think it's a great midday snack when you are trying to eat healthy, but with the addition of tofu it is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States