Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
My boys are extremely picky eaters. They LOVED this! And it was so easy to make :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Everyone liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamiethelibrarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CarlottaJ
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
So I found myself in the local grocery store looking for ingredients (though I knew better). But after going to my local international mart, I was right on track. By the time I added the red miso, I didn't even want it to simmer or cool. The flavors were outstanding. I even packed some up to a friend who specializes in Japanese cooking and she was amazed that I pulled off something similar to her grandmother's recipe so closely. One big note is that I used a mini strainer to work out the miso. Found one with notches on the side when I went to the international market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Really very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Cranmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I prefer using the dried wakame seaweed in mine and some scallions. You can find the seaweed in an asian supermarket, a normal sized bag lasts a long time, since it's dried and it expands. (be careful not to use too much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Homemade is the best! It took effort to find the dashi granules but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My kids love miso soup. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe was great, tasted just like the miso soup you get in any good Japanese restaurant. I couldn't find dashi at my Asian grocer so I substituted a cube of fish stock and a sheet out dried seaweed used to make sushi rolls broken into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Restaurant flavor and stupidly easy. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Just like you'd get in a Japanese restaurant! I had to go to the Asian market to get the dashi granules (important, don't omit!) and miso paste. I used Marikome brand All Natural Miso. This miso is known as Awase which is between a white and a red paste on the miso scale. The only change I made was to use a firm tofu, as recommended by other reviewers. I think using firm is necessary. I thinly slice a sheet of seaweed and added that into the pot just before serving. I also added a couple thinly sliced mushrooms as a garnish. Thanks for the great recipe! So simple! Who knew!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States