Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CarlottaJ
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
So I found myself in the local grocery store looking for ingredients (though I knew better). But after going to my local international mart, I was right on track. By the time I added the red miso, I didn't even want it to simmer or cool. The flavors were outstanding. I even packed some up to a friend who specializes in Japanese cooking and she was amazed that I pulled off something similar to her grandmother's recipe so closely. One big note is that I used a mini strainer to work out the miso. Found one with notches on the side when I went to the international market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Really very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Cranmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I prefer using the dried wakame seaweed in mine and some scallions. You can find the seaweed in an asian supermarket, a normal sized bag lasts a long time, since it's dried and it expands. (be careful not to use too much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Homemade is the best! It took effort to find the dashi granules but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My kids love miso soup. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe was great, tasted just like the miso soup you get in any good Japanese restaurant. I couldn't find dashi at my Asian grocer so I substituted a cube of fish stock and a sheet out dried seaweed used to make sushi rolls broken into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Restaurant flavor and stupidly easy. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Just like you'd get in a Japanese restaurant! I had to go to the Asian market to get the dashi granules (important, don't omit!) and miso paste. I used Marikome brand All Natural Miso. This miso is known as Awase which is between a white and a red paste on the miso scale. The only change I made was to use a firm tofu, as recommended by other reviewers. I think using firm is necessary. I thinly slice a sheet of seaweed and added that into the pot just before serving. I also added a couple thinly sliced mushrooms as a garnish. Thanks for the great recipe! So simple! Who knew!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
we love this. easy and quick and super delicious. only thing we added was a sprinkle of black and white sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
The only miso soup I've ever had is the instant kind that you just add water to. I stopped buying it when I read the ingredients more carefully because I'm a vegetarian and found that there's bonito in it. I craved miso soup suddenly today, so found this recipe and tweaked it to make it vegetarian. Instead of dashi, I put a little vegetarian shitake mushroom oyster-flavor sauce and kelp granules. And I added shitake mushrooms (the dehydrated ones that are soaked in water first). I happened to have leftover fried tofu, so I cut them into cubes to put in this broth. I'm very pleased with how it came out and will be making it again. Not only is it vegetarian, but way better-tasting then the instant miso I accidentally ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States