Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Great base recipe but you need to find the right ingredients. I ended up getting the dashi on-line thru Amazon (Ajinomoto brand hondashi soup granules). The box will probably last me 3 years! Found white miso in the refrigerated section of Whole Foods. Once you've got those two things, it is so flexible, you can go in many directions with add-ins. One of my favorite things to add is an ounce or so of Japanese soba noodles & let them cook in the simmering miso broth. Like some others have said, the soup is good with a side of sunomono (cucumber salad).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
excellent recipe, easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northstar
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I really liked this, but I couldn't find the granules anywhere, so I had to do without. So, my soup was very basic and a bit blank (my fault). I will try this again, and see if I can find those granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
The soup turned out very tasty, much better than restaurant style. I went to Asian market and one of the employees helped me find all ingredients I needed. I did add little bit of spinach at the end. I will definetly make it again. I will try adding one egg next time for a variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yanchik

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I give it three because you really need to make your own dashi. The granules are loaded with MSG. As we all know fresh is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodman Germain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Tasted just like at our favorite sushi restaurants! We made with sushi, and added some strips of nori to it. Will definitely be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Perfect combination of ingredients! This created the best miso soup we've ever had, anywhere! We used one sheet of sushi nori seaweed rather than the green onions, but look forward to trying the green onions next time. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blucanoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is the closest I have found to what I enjoy when we go out. Easy to throw together and take for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Thanks for the recipe!! My girlfriend and I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Very good and so comforting in the winter! Next time I will use tofu that is a bit more firm..personal preference. I added straw mushrooms and roasted seaweed. Tastes just like in the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States