Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I make Miso soup regularly and this recipe is just fine ... but only 4* as ... never cook the soup once you've added the miso paste. You should let the soup cool a bit and then add it to retain the health benefits and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very authentic recipe, easy, quick and delicious! Every other Miso soup recipe calls for a tablespoon of wakame, which is dried seaweed. I bought a bag of it dehydrated and soaked a tbsp of it in warm water for a few minutes before adding it into the dashi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDYMKOWSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
very cultural and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Ann, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Love this soup!!! I make it very often and toss in any kind of mushrooms and veggies I have on hand. So easy and sooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Great base recipe but you need to find the right ingredients. I ended up getting the dashi on-line thru Amazon (Ajinomoto brand hondashi soup granules). The box will probably last me 3 years! Found white miso in the refrigerated section of Whole Foods. Once you've got those two things, it is so flexible, you can go in many directions with add-ins. One of my favorite things to add is an ounce or so of Japanese soba noodles & let them cook in the simmering miso broth. Like some others have said, the soup is good with a side of sunomono (cucumber salad).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
excellent recipe, easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northstar
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I really liked this, but I couldn't find the granules anywhere, so I had to do without. So, my soup was very basic and a bit blank (my fault). I will try this again, and see if I can find those granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
The soup turned out very tasty, much better than restaurant style. I went to Asian market and one of the employees helped me find all ingredients I needed. I did add little bit of spinach at the end. I will definetly make it again. I will try adding one egg next time for a variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yanchik

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I give it three because you really need to make your own dashi. The granules are loaded with MSG. As we all know fresh is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodman.Germain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Tasted just like at our favorite sushi restaurants! We made with sushi, and added some strips of nori to it. Will definitely be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States