Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I just made this for the first time. I followed everything except I added one dried shiitake mushroom to the broth for extra colour. It didn't smell very good to me, nor did it smell authentic (although I don't stick my nose in the pot at my fav sushi restaurant). It smelled very fishy, I guess because I used tuna dashi. I tasted it reluctantly, but I was pleasantly surprised. It tasted very good and very authentic. I found it slightly saltier then when I get it in a restaurant; next time ill reduce the miso by 1/2 tbsp. I like it with extra green onion, and I think I'll add some cooked soba noodles for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at miso soup.I made this dish with my boyfriend for a sushi night we hosted with friendsand it was awesome! I will be making this again for sure! Next time I will need a bigger pot, everyone gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is my base for Miso Soup. Great basic recipe and good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great recipe! I had to substitute the Dashi with two cubes of chicken bouillon. The family loved it! Next time, I will try it with the Dashi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Such a flavorful soup! I use wakame (dried sea grass) for added texture, flavor and color -- but be careful! It adds a bit of saltiness. You do not want to overboil your miso for risk of losing its flavor, but you want your wakemake to be softened in very hot broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Wow, this taste just like at the restaurant! I've tried to make miso soup without dashi before but I was always disappointed. Now that I found dashi granules in china town, I'm really excited! It's so easy and fast to do the recipe! I can't wait to try different ingredients in it! I did strain the miso in a strainer has suggested by others and the broth is clearer. I added thinly shredded carrots and use tofu noodles and it was fantastic. Can't wait to try with straw mushrooms! Delicious! My husband who usually does not like miso soup liked it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
My sister makes this superbly she mostly makes it with rice balls this recipe is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREHOUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is the perfect basic recipe. As others have mentioned, adding spinach and mushrooms adds a delicious touch. Oddly, I could not find dashi granules at my local asian market, but the very nice clerk gave me the ingredients (which they had) and very easy instructions to make my own stock which is much lower in sodium and additives: Dried kombu (kelp) and bonito flakes. Soak +/- 1/2 cup of dried kombu in 4 cups cold water for 20 minutes. Bring to a boil, add +/- 1/2 cup of the dried bonito flakes. Simmer 5 minutes. Strain the broth. Voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Pretty close! For an added dash of authentic Japanese restaurant flavor, add a pinch of wakame (sea vegetable) to the initial boiling of the broth. It will take just a few minutes to re-hydrate. A Japanese grandmother taught me never to boil miso, as it destroys the beneficial enzymes. Temper the miso in a cup with a little broth before adding it to the hot soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I studied in Japan as a college student, and this is pretty much how I learned to make miso soup from friends in Japan. Just a few notes: Miso: I was taught to mix the miso in a small bowl with a bit of the broth to dissolve it before adding it to the pot. Otherwise it's harder to incorporate it into the soup. If your miso has chunks that won't dissolve, you can put this small bowlful through a sieve before adding to the pot. Tofu: Generally, softer tofu is used for soups and hard tofu is for dishes like stir fry where it will be stirred or moved around a lot. That's why the recipe calls for what it does. But get what you like. Seaweed: While you're at the Asian grocery store picking up your miso and dashi, grab some wakame seaweed. You just have to reconstitute it by putting a small amount in a bowl of water while you're making the rest of the soup. When the soup is ready, the wakame should be, too. Chop into 2-3" pieces if desired - some bits of wakame may be quite large. Put it into the soup and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States