Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
It was exactly how I expected after adding mushrooms and seaweed! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Authentic, good. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Super easy and quick! I added some chopped Kombu seaweed also. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made this soup for myself and it was delicious! Just as good if not better than any miso soup you can get at a restaurant. I added cut up portobello mushrooms for a little more to chew on, and it was good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
i boiled dried seaweed (for wrapping sushi rolls) and dried shredded squid (in lieu of the bonito) instead of using dashi granules, which i equated in my mind to powder bouillon which is pure salt and artificial ingredients. i also took the cue from other reviewers that recommended firm tofu instead of silken. this soup was great! just like the sushi restaurants here in okinawa :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I think when I added the Miso Paste I added too much because my husband said it turned out really strong, so I ended up adding a fifth cup of water to it and he absolutely loved this recipe. He's been deployed to Korea and says it's just like from there. We only used Firm Tofu (Silken) and green onions. The dashi took me a while to find at my local Asian Market because it was called Hondashi (Bonito Soup Stock). Just in case anyone else runs across the same problem. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
You can use yellow, white, or red miso paste for the soup, depending on your preference. You will also need dashi, which is made of dried kelp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and loved how it turned out! One small tip - make sure you don't boil the miso, as it will kill the aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Okay, as is, the recipe is fine and tasted just like the soup served in our favorite Japanese restaurants. However, I'm really disappointed, because the first two ingredients in Hondashi granules are salt and MSG! I hate to think I've been eating MSG every time I have miso soup at my favorite restaurant, but it would appear that is the case. I didn't see any other brand at my local Lion market, so what else could they be using? Hopefully it's Bonito dried fish flakes to make their own. We tried that the first time and used tons of flakes, and it turned out to be way too fishy. I am definitely making this soup again, but without the Hondashi granules. I will cut back on the dried fish flakes to make my dashi and see if that makes the soup less fishy. Otherwise, I won't be eating it anymore at all, at home or at the restaurants. Also I agree with the reviewer who said their silken tofu was too soft. Use a fairly firm tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great base. Simple soup and this gives you the portions to tweak to your particular taste. Try boiling dried sardines to make your broth, or adding mushrooms and dried seaweed. I add the miso paste at the end--apparently you destroy some of the "healthy" components of the miso paste if you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States