Miso Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
we love this. easy and quick and super delicious. only thing we added was a sprinkle of black and white sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
The only miso soup I've ever had is the instant kind that you just add water to. I stopped buying it when I read the ingredients more carefully because I'm a vegetarian and found that there's bonito in it. I craved miso soup suddenly today, so found this recipe and tweaked it to make it vegetarian. Instead of dashi, I put a little vegetarian shitake mushroom oyster-flavor sauce and kelp granules. And I added shitake mushrooms (the dehydrated ones that are soaked in water first). I happened to have leftover fried tofu, so I cut them into cubes to put in this broth. I'm very pleased with how it came out and will be making it again. Not only is it vegetarian, but way better-tasting then the instant miso I accidentally ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Common way of making Miso using granules. A couple of notes from my own experience...I use 1T miso for every cup of dashi (i.e. the broth). This makes it easier for me to remember the ratio. When using silken tofu, look for the Extra Firm Silken Tofu. You want that restaurant quality creamy tofu experience but you also want the block to hold up. Extra Firm Silken does this. Finally, I add a bit of rehydrated wakame (seaweed) as well. A little wakame goes a long way as it expands greatly. Rehydrate with boiling water in a separate vessel, drain, and add to the end soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I added dried seaweed instead of scallions and used firm tofu and it was just like what I'd expect from a Japanese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It gave the basics and I just needed to tweek it a bit. I wanted more soup so I made 5 C of water, 3 teas. dash, and 4 tbsp of miso. I also added dried kelp which added more flavor and a healthy ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
After adding the Dashi, I tasted the Miso paste before adding. It was low sodium, but still a bit salty. I only used 2 Tbs. Miso and it was enough. I added about a 1/2 cup of tofu and a 1/2 cup seaweed cut in about 1/2 in pieces along with the onion. This was delicious and light. Make sure you soak and rinse the seaweed if you use it. Made it again with thinly sliced celery and bamboo shoots, in addition to the green onion. I cut all of my ingredients thinly to keep the soup light and brothy. So simple, but made me look like I might actually know what I'm doing! lol Thanks Michelle Chen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Just made this today for lunch, very good. Added some thin sliced shiitake mushrooms (they were dried, just simmered them up a bit on the stove with just enough water to cover them). Also added some seasoned dried seaweed, ripped into 2" pieces. Didn't have any dashi, so I added some Katsuo Fumi Furikake (rice seasoning) to the mix, as it has shaved bonito in it. That last ingredient made it perfect! Very yummy, this will eaten at least once a week in an effort to eat a little better in 2014. Yeah, I know about the salt. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Nothing not to love about this recipe - the proportions are great and it's basic, so you can expand it in whatever way you wish. Add some protein in the form of chicken or shrimp, add more veggies, etc. Like more miso? Start with the prescribed amount here and go up if you like. A great starting point for anything miso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Well-worth the grocery store search for some of the ingredients. Loved it! Everyone found it to be very authentic and comforting on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
LOVE this! It tastes just like my fave Japanese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States