Miso Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Miso soup tastes waterery without a Japanese soup stock called "dashi". My grand mother used to make it from the scratch with sea weed and a dried tuna. You can buy ready-made "dashi-no-moto" at most of Asian super market. It adds deepness and a great aroma to the miso soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIKO10028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I thought this was a great recipe. I made the soup with slices of white mushrooms and added a few more scallons for taste. I almost doubled the miso paste as well for more taste. Just be sure not to add too much barsley paste because it will be too strong. FYI-I got the miso paste in the refrigerator section at Whole Foods (health food store) next to the tofu. This is a good recipe and I feel so relaxed and healthy after sipping on this great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgit1880

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
it's not bad... not the traditional Japanese miso soup though, I must say. Normally you don't put spinach in the soup... it's traditionally nori (seaweed). But, like I said, not bad. Sorry, not trying to be too critical... being part Japanese and after working at a Japanese restaurant for 6 years, I'm pretty picky about how Japanese food is put together, haha, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMomma92607

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Very good and very easy. I use bok choy instead of spinach, but would like it either way. Also, I added sliced mushrooms. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I generally use a combo of powdered vegi 'chicken' broth and powdered mushroom broth with my water for added flavor. The 'chicken' broth adds a savory element while the earthy mushroom broth rounds the flavor out with the two misos very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very simple to make. Mellow, calming flavors. The tofu I used wasn't firm enough so make sure you get extra firm. I sauteed it in peanut oil beforehand. Also added some sliced baby bella mushrooms. A good introduction to miso soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Yum. I didn't have both kinds of miso, so I used 3TB of white miso(I wanted it a bit stronger). Added a bit of extra green onion...and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWATwife
Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I thought this soup was very good and is one of the few vegetarian versions I've seen. I followed the recipe except I added barley and red miso rather than the white and used a little more than called for. This is a keeper and will be a fun recipe to try variations with like the broths and mushrooms suggested by other reviewers or a bit of powdered soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I went to an asian grocery store and yet couldn't find anything other than generic soybean miso paste. This still turned out very good, though a tad salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Pretty good, but I should have added more miso to suit my taste. When I make it again, I will put dried seaweed in place of the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States