Miso Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Good recipe but needs some adjusting for my taste. Way too much miso, it overwhelmed everything including the salmon. I would also either add more Sake or ignore it all together, the amount in the recipe isn't noticeable. Also, I have no idea where to find soy-ginger salad dressing. It wasn't at the specialty store, it wasn't at the grocery store, So I just added 1/4 cup soy sauce and 1 tsp fresh ginger. I'll try it again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Grilled the salmon instead of bake/broil. Instead of the salad dressing I used a generous splash of light soy, fresh ground ginger, garlic, some mirin instead of sake, a bit of rice wine vineager and a squeeze of lime. I used maybe a quarter cup of miso since it seemed like it would be too salty with more. I also used honey instead of brown sugar. Took half of the ingredients mixed for a marinade, then added the rest to sauteed onions, baby garlic, scallions, snow peas and wheat pasta as a sauce. Overall a little salty but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
What a fantastic and different way to do salmon! The only change I made was I didn't have prepared soy-ginger dressing, so I mashed up some sushi ginger in 3tbsp of soy sauce. It was great! The only thing I'll do different next time is not poach the salmon beforehand. Salmon cooks quickly enough in the oven without the added step of poaching. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was delicious! I didn't have sake and it still came out great. Poaching the fish first gave it a nice, delicate texture. Next time I will cut down on the amount of sauce though because I had a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This sauce has a wonderful flavour! I followed the ingredients exactly, but didn't poach the salmon and left the skin on while I was baking it. I found that the sauce was too runny to be a spread but a bit too thick to be a good glaze - it might have been the salad dressing I used (Jesse's Ginger Salad Dressing on this site - I kept the carrots which added nice flavour), or maybe next time I won't add the water so I can get a thicker spread of the sauce on the salmon. I served the salmon with cous cous with carrots and currents and with steamed broccoli over which I poured some extra sauce from the pan - delish! I am definitely going to try it out on chicken and maybe beef, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is a 5 PLUS meal. VERY VERY YUMMY! Very easy to put together and a very quick cook. My husband said he could eat this every day. My step father whom is Japenese LOVED it. I think he licked his plate clean :) LOL! Thank you so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
delicious and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Loved this recipe. And so easy! Both my children liked it too - even asked for seconds!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
My initial attempt at this recipe was using boneless skinless chicken breast, as the salmon had gone bad before i got to use it. We didn't have quite enough miso paste and did not have sake, so we used mirin instead. I made the soy ginger salad dressing from a recipe i found here and we just figured we'd wing it. It was wonderful!! I think it will be one of our new favorites. The chicken turned out extremely moist, and the sauce was perfect. We tossed some broccoli into the pan and roasted that in the sauce as well. I can't wait to try the sauce on steak on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
yummy!!!! will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States