Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Had it last night. We found Minute Miso in Roger's Supermarket in St. Joe. We went to Falatic's meat market and they didn't have skirt steak, suggested flank steak. We followed the recipe and we all thought it was great. It is tender when it is cooked at least to medium. Rarer, as Chef John said, is tough. Surley wondered why her's/his was tough and it was because they cooked it rare. I'm going to make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this as written except that I grilled it on the George Foreman. It was so good! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
It was very tasy and easy to make. I did have to make an extra trip to get the Miso, but well worth it. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Mayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Derwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
KEEPER! I made this exactly according to the recipe and it was great. I had to go to the Asian store for the Miso Paste - it is in the refrigerated section. This is company worthy, for sure. I served it with grilled fresh pineapple & sugar snap peas with a simple green salad with Miso Sesame Dressing from this site. What a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
WOW!!! What's not to love about this!?!? This was of the best skirt steaks I have ever eaten, and I prepare it often using many different recipes. I made it exactly as written and it was perfect - no changes necessary - but I wouldn't expect any less from Chef John! Very tender and flavorful. I'm not sure why the other reviewer's steak was tough. Skirt steak needs to be cut against the grain. Miso paste can be obtained from any Asian market in the refrigerated section. Sure, it's not available in your everyday grocery store, but no reason to rate the recipe down for that! I'll definitely be making this for company and I know they'll be impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I love this. My husband said its too much miso so next time i would wipe the steak down before i cook it. I also use the fork to tenderize the meat while marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
OMG is this to die for. I did not change a thing. So easy to fix and a wonderful flavor. I also did the cherry tomatoes on the grill like the video and served with sauteed spinach. I found Miso at HEB/Central Market. Any store that prepares sushi will have it for sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Thank you Chef John for introducing me to Skirt Steak. I made this recipe and the coffee/soda recipe and both were awesome! And so quick! The only alteration I will make next time is to add a little extra miso....just a personal preference. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Delicious!!! I don't know where you get your skirt steaks , jcoates, but it's definitely not cheap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Good recipe, I've been cooking skirt steak for over 40 years and its one of my favorite pieces of meat. That said, you can ruin it by cooking it too much. It must be med rare to be tender with or without a marinade. If you don't like steak cooked red, don't bother with this cut because you will never be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak

See how to make a simple miso glaze for grilled steaks.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States