Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Delicious! I kneaded an extra cup of flour into the dough since it was so sticky. I also substituted Spectrum organic palm oil shortening for the margarine since my son is allergic to soy. My Jewish husband said it's the best challah he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is my favorite bread recipe! Have been making this bread for over 7 years. The loaves disappear as soon as I take them out of the oven. Makes wonderful butter or cheese toast. Great as gifts! Absolutly NO changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made this bread for Easter and realized after doing a full 8 minutes of kneading I had forgot to add the eggs! So back in the bowel it went, mixed the eggs in best I could, re-kneaded it with a bit more flour to get it all to mix, and hoped for the best... Well talk about a forgiving recipe! It was by far still the best loaves of bread I had made in a long time, will def be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I love this recipe. I was raised on Zopf, as is eaten in Germany, and this is so very much like it. I will add perhaps another quarter cup of sugar and some raisins the next time I make it to make it taste even more like the Zopf I'm used to. It's great with coffee, as a light breakfast. But eat it up quickly as it is best the first day...after that it becomes a little stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
One of the best challah recipes I've used-- the loaf was 6x the dough height and had a great sweet but not too sweet texture. It also worked very well in density for the day after french toast. I did change the order I added the ingredients as another reviewer suggested (e.g., yeast + 1 c. warm water + white sugar, wait 5 min, then add brown sugar, 1 c. water, eggs, and slowly add in flour and salt.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
For a richer flavor I opted to use all brown sugar. Make sure you don't over kneed this dough, or you will loose all of that awesome texture. Sweet, flaky, dense but airy...One I will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Simply delicious. The smell is wonderful too. Sweet and bready just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritabonita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by metread
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
My first time making Challah, and I'm hooked! This is a simple, straight forward recipe that is almost failproof. I didn't have enough AP flour, so I used 1/2 AP and 1/2 wheat flour. It came out perfect. This is my new go-to bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Oh sooo good!! There is nothing like the feeling you get when a recipe makes you feel like a pro!! This is fool proof. I did add a little honey to mine and halved the brown sugar.(it was still sweet) I did everything in my kitchen Aid with the dough hook, (kneaded for 6-7 minutes) it couldnt have been easier. The dough was really sticky like others said but I just used a couple tablespoons extra of flour and a floured surface to form the braided loaves, dont worry about the sticky texture. It turns out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This dough was very very sticky. Was a little nervous about it turning out ok, but it was delicious. Made it for Christmas Eve/Day meals. A delicious, sweet bread. A real treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States