Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I cut this recipe in half to make two manageable challahs. I still find that is plenty for a meal of 8-10 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eugenie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Wow! So delicous and easy! I followed the recipe, but made two loafs. One loaf was traditional with the addition of sprinkling kosher salt on top before baking! What a wonderful edition. The other one I added mini chocolate chips, and again, everyone raved! I definitely did not cook it 45 minutes. Watch it at 30 minutes to make sure it wouldn't burn and that the bread sounds hollow when you tap on it!. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Very nice! It is an exceptionally light and sweet challah-like bread. The poppy seeds make a wonderful final touch! A quick note on cooking time: this loaf should come out of the oven when it registers 190 degrees in the middle. Usually takes about 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terina777
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
First Challa I tried. Everyone enjoys it and one child throws tantrums for it! I make the dough, let it rise, braid it -.and then freeze it after wrapping in plastic wrap. When I need it, I take the plastic wrap off and let it rise the second time for 3 hours (no extra yeast needed) . I then cook it. I did decrease time of cooking to 35 minutes for a more moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This bread is excellent! A little sweet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Be careful when baking - mine only needed 25 minutes instead of the 40 called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Excellent bread, bakes up beautifully, smells wonderful and people are always very impressed by how professional it looks! I've never had this recipe fail me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The dough was easy to make and rose well, but making the long ropes and braiding the dough was difficult. I made 1 braided loaf and put the extra dough in the fridge. The bread looked wonderful when I took it out of the oven, I was impressed with my efforts. But I was a little disappointed when I tasted it...Not a lot of flavor at all... A bit bland for me. Not at all terrible by any means, but I was expecting a bit more flavor after doing all that work. Maybe that was somewhat my fault because I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour (simply because I didn't notice that until I had begun). Good dough to practice with though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lissalea
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made this in the bread machine and halved the recipe for just one loaf. I needed an egg bread for french toast and bread pudding, and this turned out beautifully! I did have to use almost 4 c. of flour for a half recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Followed the instruction and I have a few comments. It took more than 7 cups of flower to get the dough elastic enough but not sticky. Secondly while it has risen to twice its size the first and the second time (after braiding it), it came out flat like in the picture. I am used to a bigger challah so I am not sure if baking powder or different type of yeasts were needed. Baking time was and should be less than 45 minutes or the temp recommendations here are incorrect. The bread came out slightly darker than the picture after 38 minutes. Lastly, while the house filled with wonderful scent of baking, the flavor was not that great. Somewhat sweet but nothing else. I would stick to white sugar only and probably more than a 1/2 cup to give it a slightly sweeter note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States