Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is an easy recipe. The bread is light, fluffy, looks wonderful and tastes even better than it looks. I have tried other Challah recipes but this one is a tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stopandsmelltheflowers
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Makes fantastic french toast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
So sad. This did not taste like Challah that I am used to. Not sweet enough and was more like plain white bread. I wouldn't exactly call it a "light bread" either. It didn't seem to rise too much after it was braided. Took 35 minutes to bake. Sorry to say I won't be making this one again. Thanks anyways MIRIAM571.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Savta Sinda
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I've tried several Challah Bread recipes and THIS IS FAR THE BEST OF ALL!!! OMG!!! This bread is so yummy!!! It makes 3 large loaves. I highly recommend this recipe....and I didn't change a thing!!! Blessings! ***July 2014 I'm editing my first comment......I've started making this recipe into 6 loaves, braiding each loaf. For this last Shabbat, I sprinkled Granulated Garlic on the counter (the length of my 3 ropes), then rolled them in it. Then I braided the loaf. For the next loaf, I sprinkled Ground Cinnamon and chopped Craisins on the counter in front of 3 ropes and rolled each in the cinnamon/craisins, then braided together. When this loaf cooled, I drizzled icing on it made from Powdered Sugar and International Delight Hazelnut creamer to make a pourable icing. YUM!!!! It's endless what you can do with this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This bread is wonderful! I halved the recipe to make one loaf and added 1 c. raisins and 1-1/2 Tbsp. cinnamon without any problems. The dough rose beautifully. I used a glass measuring cup in microwave instead of a pan on stove. Also added 1 Tbsp. sugar to egg wash. Other than those minor tweaks, I didn't do anything differently, and it turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I've been looking for the right challah recipe and I believe I've found it! I've made it 3 or 4 times already with great success. I use coconut oil in place of the margarine and have at times substituted some of the flour for some spelt flour. This gives it a denser consistency. It is so easy and fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I have tried this recipe twice and found the second time after brushed with honey and sprinkled with poppy seeds, it was great...5+ stars. But the first was still 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Everyone loved this bead! I made two loaves thinking it would last the length of Rosh Hashanah. Nope. My family ate an entire loaf in one night! I anticipate the second loaf will be gone just as quickly. This was a very simple recipe. The only thing I did differently was I followed the tips provided by CMDMD and I added half a cup of honey in addition to the white and brown sugar. This came out a bit more cake-like than traditional challah but oh so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
A lovely recipe! This is the first time I've made challah and I couldn't be happier with it. I combined the ingredients the way another commenter did - yeast water sugar, then the eggs, etc. Very light and airy, has a wonderful flavor. Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States