Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
So sad. This did not taste like Challah that I am used to. Not sweet enough and was more like plain white bread. I wouldn't exactly call it a "light bread" either. It didn't seem to rise too much after it was braided. Took 35 minutes to bake. Sorry to say I won't be making this one again. Thanks anyways MIRIAM571.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Savta Sinda
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I've tried several Challah Bread recipes and THIS IS FAR THE BEST OF ALL!!! OMG!!! This bread is so yummy!!! It makes 3 large loaves. I highly recommend this recipe....and I didn't change a thing!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This bread is wonderful! I halved the recipe to make one loaf and added 1 c. raisins and 1-1/2 Tbsp. cinnamon without any problems. The dough rose beautifully. I used a glass measuring cup in microwave instead of a pan on stove. Also added 1 Tbsp. sugar to egg wash. Other than those minor tweaks, I didn't do anything differently, and it turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I've been looking for the right challah recipe and I believe I've found it! I've made it 3 or 4 times already with great success. I use coconut oil in place of the margarine and have at times substituted some of the flour for some spelt flour. This gives it a denser consistency. It is so easy and fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I have tried this recipe twice and found the second time after brushed with honey and sprinkled with poppy seeds, it was great...5+ stars. But the first was still 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Everyone loved this bead! I made two loaves thinking it would last the length of Rosh Hashanah. Nope. My family ate an entire loaf in one night! I anticipate the second loaf will be gone just as quickly. This was a very simple recipe. The only thing I did differently was I followed the tips provided by CMDMD and I added half a cup of honey in addition to the white and brown sugar. This came out a bit more cake-like than traditional challah but oh so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
A lovely recipe! This is the first time I've made challah and I couldn't be happier with it. I combined the ingredients the way another commenter did - yeast water sugar, then the eggs, etc. Very light and airy, has a wonderful flavor. Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BreadBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Delicious! So easy! The only change I made was to follow the ingredients additions by reviewer CMDMD. Fabulous! The bread rose beautifully and the presentation and flavour was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
The only thing I changed was the baking time. In my electric oven at 350, it was done in 30 minutes with a beautiful, deep golden crust. I left off the seeds because I was sharing the bread with small children (they HATE seeds.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States