Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
this is the one to use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by collegecook91
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Made this yesterday and it was a hit! Didn't have bread flour so used AP and turned out great! Not really sweet, but that was fine! I kneeded it by hand this time, but next time am going to try and kneed it in the bosch to make it even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecook91

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Made this yesterday. Took some effort but well worth it. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Ok, we just purchased a new mixer last night and for its inauguration I just made this challah. It is one of the most beautiful things I've ever made. Light in texture, but rich in flavor. We love it! Thanks for the recipe, Miriam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is an easy recipe. The bread is light, fluffy, looks wonderful and tastes even better than it looks. I have tried other Challah recipes but this one is a tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stopandsmelltheflowers
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Makes fantastic french toast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
So sad. This did not taste like Challah that I am used to. Not sweet enough and was more like plain white bread. I wouldn't exactly call it a "light bread" either. It didn't seem to rise too much after it was braided. Took 35 minutes to bake. Sorry to say I won't be making this one again. Thanks anyways MIRIAM571.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Savta Sinda
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I've tried several Challah Bread recipes and THIS IS FAR THE BEST OF ALL!!! OMG!!! This bread is so yummy!!! It makes 3 large loaves. I highly recommend this recipe....and I didn't change a thing!!! Blessings! ***July 2014 I'm editing my first comment......I've started making this recipe into 6 loaves, braiding each loaf. For this last Shabbat, I sprinkled Granulated Garlic on the counter (the length of my 3 ropes), then rolled them in it. Then I braided the loaf. For the next loaf, I sprinkled Ground Cinnamon and chopped Craisins on the counter in front of 3 ropes and rolled each in the cinnamon/craisins, then braided together. When this loaf cooled, I drizzled icing on it made from Powdered Sugar and International Delight Hazelnut creamer to make a pourable icing. YUM!!!! It's endless what you can do with this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This bread is wonderful! I halved the recipe to make one loaf and added 1 c. raisins and 1-1/2 Tbsp. cinnamon without any problems. The dough rose beautifully. I used a glass measuring cup in microwave instead of a pan on stove. Also added 1 Tbsp. sugar to egg wash. Other than those minor tweaks, I didn't do anything differently, and it turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States