Miracle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This soup is wonderful. I've made it several times. If you really want it go over the top with this taste and nutrition-wise, replace the frozen stir-fry veggies with finally chopped bok choy (leaves and stems). Also, a quarter of a teaspoon of toasted sesame seed oil on the top only adds one gram of fat and a much more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Made this today- the ginger and garlic are amazing! I used fresh mushrooms, green onions, canned bamboo shoots, canned bean sprouts, a sliced onion, fresh spinach, cilantro and salad shrimp. Left out the fructose. It tastes so amazing. Thanks for a fabulous base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Very nice flavor to the broth. Kind of like hot and sour soup. However, the spinach gets slimy and if you overcook it a bit (like I did) the shrimp gets chewy. I am thinking this soup would be great with chicken or tofu and nix the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Wow!! Great soup. Hard to believe it's so low in calories. I did add some sesame oil--it seemed to give it just that extra taste it needed. I left out the spinach but only because I didn't have any. Definitely will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
I don't know about the weightloss properties of this soup, but the flavor is EXCELLENT!VERY easy and pretty fast to make, well worth ALL of the freshest ingredients! The flavors all go really well together and make a delicous soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I love it! I did make a few minor changes, such as 1/8 cup ginger, garlic and cilantro. Other than that I followed your recipe to the "T". Next time I might use cubed tofu instead of shrimp. Then again, I might use both. Tastes a lot like hot and sour soup which I love. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANGOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I am not crazy over this one, but I will use it and modify it next time I make it only because it is such a great weight loss food. I do not like the way the soy sauce turns it such a dark brown color, and I didn't even use the full amount, also I don't think I would add the corn starch again, why would you want to thicken soup so much?? Next time I think I will go with alot less soy sauce and more chicken broth. I will definitly leave out the bamboo shoots too only because I discovered I don't like them. I also cut way back on the ginger and garlic, I can't imagine how strong it would have been if the full amount had of been used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Very good and easy, I will definatly be making again. I will reduce the garlic and ginger next time, a little strong. Added extra vegetables and omited the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
Delicious and healthy! The seasonings in this soup give it a unique flavor that is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
This is the best low calorie recipe that I have ever tried. It will be a pleasure to lose weigh with the help of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States