Miracle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this tonight and it was absolutely delicious. I adjusted the recipe a bit according to my tastes. I'm not a big fan of ginger root, so I omitted that ingredient. I used fresh bok choy instead of spinach, added in extra water chestnuts, extra baby corn, extra mushrooms, extra bamboo shoots, and an extra 32 oz package of chicken broth. I also added in a half package of dry lentils which I pre-cooked before putting them in the soup. The lentils gave it an extra boost of iron and made the soup more filling. Absolutely amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Followed the recipe except added some more chili as I like it spicy. Well, I can't get enough! On bowl number two now. J'adore. Miam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I actually want to rate it 3 1/2 stars ... it was good but I found the it a bit "too sour" for my tastes. I'm wondering if I might have added too much vinegar by mistake because "too sour" is not in other reviews. I will probably try it again for this reason because I loved the fresh ginger & garlic. Also surprisingly very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janaflower
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Yum! I really enjoyed this soup. I couldn't find bamboo shoots, so I didn't add those, and I added a little sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Yum. I changed up the ingredients and made the soup more Asian. Baby bok choy instead of veggies, mushrooms, water chestnuts. Left out the ginger and cilantro (not fond of either), reduced the rice wine vinegar and added a splash of sesame oil at the end as recommended by another reviewer. This has become a weekly soup for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Initially good, but the flavors don't hold up after the first two spoonfuls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hoffecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is really good soup, a little spicy for my tastes but will make again without so much ginger and a little less peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Great tasting soup! Just the right amount of spice! I used chicken instead of Shrimp and it was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This soup came out wonderful. I used 2 different stir-fry veggies for variety and cut garlic and ginger in half as others suggested. It is spicy with the crushed red pepper but not to spicy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Made this today- the ginger and garlic are amazing! I used fresh mushrooms, green onions, canned bamboo shoots, canned bean sprouts, a sliced onion, fresh spinach, cilantro and salad shrimp. Left out the fructose. It tastes so amazing. Thanks for a fabulous base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States