Miracle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
What amazing flavor! Such a lot of bang for the calorie buck!! I made as-written (which is my committment to this site) for the first time tonight. We are on a "soup & salad" gig 'till the Holiday gorging begins.....and this is a "keeper" on our menu! We loved the perfectly balanced flavors, the great fresh nutrition, and the hearty satisfaction of a great meal, all on our limited calorie committment. All I added was a fresh salad. Thank you fo this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Pretty tasty soup, and much better than the other "diet" soups. I didn't have bamboo shoots, so I replaced them with sliced water chestnusts and they give a nice crisp crunch to the soup. I also replaced the garlic, ginger, and red pepper with 2 tbsp. of garlic/ginger/pepper paste that I had in my fridge. I took another reviewers advise and used kale instead of spinach. Next time, I will add the kale at the same time as the frozen veggies, as it takes a little while to get tender. All said, it is a nice and easy soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyns Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morrow, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Love it! I used beef broth (only because I was out of chicken broth) and didn't have any bamboo shoots on hand so I omitted them. I also used canned straw mushrooms, 1 whole serrano pepper in place of the crushed red pepper, and 1 teaspoon of agave nectar in place of the fructose. Also, I didn't have any shrimp so I substituted 1 package of tofu shiritake noodles. This was so tasty on a cold, windy fall night - spicy and satisfying. I'll be making this lots, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very good. Added a drizzle of sesame oil when serving. Make sure you use all of the corn starch recommended since the soup thins out when frozen veggies added later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I absolutely loved this soup!!! I did lessen the amount of crushed red pepper to 1/2 tsp. but found this to be too hot for my husband. Next time I will only use 1/4 tsp. to make it mild in range. I love the idea that this is also so low in calories. Thanks, LILHEN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
As written there is just too much soy for us and we find it does not need the sweetner nor the cornstarch. Why on earth would you want to thicken this good soup....oh well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I loved the idea and I read through the reviews and this is what I came up with: I used fresh mushrooms and I did add Sesame Seed oil once I added all veggies (I used 1/4 tsp for the half of the recipe). I did not use any cornstarch - I prefer my soups more watery. I sauteed garlic and ginger for a couple of minutes, added broth (organic, low sodium), added all other ingredients, including soy, vinegar, pepper and all the veggies (I added them all together). I also added baby baby bok choy, cut in pieces, steams and leaves together. After some time I added tofu (or shrimps - I tried both) and when it was almost done added the spinach for about 3 min... All in all - great lunch I take to work with me and pretty easy to make! Was very filling and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe. Made it yesterday and the family loves it. If it helps with weight loss - I will be very grateful. Regardless, this recipe has become part of my "recipe box" of items that I will prepare often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a favorite with a couple of my family members. I've found the cilantro a huge key and almost always substitute kale for the spinach. The spinach will 'melt' into the soup. The kale holds shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States