Miracle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Loved this soup! Grating the ginger is great. Spinach finely chopped just added a nice touch - cilantro also! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
pretty good base but a little salty. i used low fat ground turkey instead of shrimp which worked fine. i also used sugar instead of fructose and added fresh spinach as served. i will make again with these changes and probably use only fresh vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I don't know about the "miracle" part, but this soup is fantastic. I don't always use the same veggies (whatever frozen mixes are on sale), and it still tastes great every time. The only real change I make is the shrimp. I am making it for one and reheating toughens the shrimp too much. I use extra firm tofu for the protein! The tofu absorbs all the broth flavor and reheats great. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I thought that this soup was delicious. I used brown sugar instead of fructose. I also added several dry chili peppers. Instead of canned mushrooms, I used fresh chopped shitaki mushrooms and instead of frozen spinach, I used fresh baby spinach. I waited until the last 5 minutes to add the shrimp, spinach, and cilantro. It came out great. I would definitely make it again. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
My husband and I have been watching our caloric intake for a while, and this soup is PERFECT for us! We love the flavor, love the soup, and it's great leftover too. I'd like to add some red cabbage sometime, since this reminds me a lot of Hot and Sour soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Great, healthy recipe for chilly/cloudy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I was really looking forward to making this soup.. I must say I was pretty disappointed with how it turned out. Maybe if the ginger was grated, then you would avoid the problem I had... I kept biting into ginger chunks and getting a very strong bitter flavor. The vegetables were soggy and gross and the broth tastes weird, and I eat pretty much anything and am very open minded. This recipe was a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieElizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I didn't follow this recipe exactly, but because what I made came out FANTASTIC I thought I would share :) I made half a batch and cut the cornstarch down by half (again), which I thought give it a great texture. The market didn't have a can of bamboo shoots, so I used a can of chop suey vegetables (which contains bamboo as well as sprouts and some other things) - I highly recommend that. There are several frozen stir-fry veggie mixes available, but I chose the Bird's Eye snap pea mix and it gave the soup a tiny bit of sweetness. Instead of fructose, I used two packets of Truvia. It doesn't sound like it would make a difference, but it was exactly right (I taste-tested before adding, after adding 1 packet, and after adding the second). I also followed some other reviewers' advice and left out the spinach - I didn't think it was missing anything. I used tofu instead of shrimp just because I was hoping to have leftovers around for the week; i used half of the package, and probably should have used less, but it went well. Finally, I forgot to halve the crushed red pepper so it was quite zingy. But I loved this soup the way I made it. I shouldn't have cut it in half though - my husband loved it too and it's all gone now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuddlebugs333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This base is fantastic. I will be making this a lot, and varying it, adding noodles as well! It's terrific as is, I added sesame oil, subbed about 1TBSP sugar for fructose and used mostly fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I read a lot of the reviews on this and decided to go with the majorities. Instead of spinach, I used Kale. I was a little nervous using kale because it seems to have an overpowering bitterness. But in this recipe it was great. I also used fresh veggies instead of frozen. I used low sodium everything because I have high blood pressure and have to watch my sodium intake (not to mention that if you're trying to lose weight, salt can cause you to retain water and gain weight). I also went with the suggestion to reduce the amount of corn starch. I have to say, if you like the thick consistency of regular hot and sour soup, don't reduce it. I love hot and sour soup and the thickness is one of the great things about it. If you like watery soups, reducing the amount of cornstarch is probably a good idea. Great soup, big batch, easy, and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States