Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Living in France, I can't find shortening. This recipe, modified to be all-butter comes out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Very good crust. I give it a 5 for ease and it turns out great. I have made about 7 pies this week with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Pretty much the best crust ever! I substituted butter flavored shortening and it's great for pies and chicken pot pie too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This crust is awesome. A couple things I noticed was that on, it needs a bit more ice water than called for so it's not crumbly. Also, this recipe definitely makes enough for two pies, unless you like really thick crust. I used the majority of the crust for one pie and my crust came out super thick, too thick! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
i don't know what i did wrong, but I did not care for this! the taste wasn't that bad, but it was horrible to work with! i hate making pie crust so i was super excited to read about how easy it was to work with. whatever i did wrong, made it super crumbly and impossible to roll out. I'll try it again to see if it was my mistake or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This might be because I'm still a novice at making my own pie crusts, but I found the dough needing more water than what the recipe said. When the dough finally blended, it also felt harder to roll out than normal. I don't know how it tastes yet but it looked very nice when I took my pie out of the oven. I'll be sure to edit my comment when I do. It might not be the recipe, perhaps operator error. I'll try it again just to be sure next time I make a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong, but I had to add a LOT more water to even work with this dough. Probably 1/2 cup to even get it so I could ball it up to wrap it. I'll see how it turns out once I get it out of the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I feel like the lone ranger. I just mixed this pie crust recipe together. My first problem was that the water added to half the flour mixture turned into a dough ball. When I tried adding the dough ball to the flour with shortening, it would mix together. I had to add almost another 6-7 tablespoons of water to get the dough to caome together. Any ideas what happened? Bucky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have never left a bad review, but this turned out not so great. It was definitely flakey, but it wouldn't hold together. I added more water and it turned out thick & hard. But that could have been my problem for altering the recipe. What REALLY bothered me was that with the salt and the baking powder it came out VERY salty. Far too much for a fruit pie. That is the reason for the 3 stars. It might work well for a meat pie. I will go back to a traditional crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKERS68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States