Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
pretty good but had a slight bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccraisins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 lard and also substituted vodka instead of water for an even flakier result. Great starting point recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHoldren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Thick and flaky. I made this crust for my homemade custard pie and it was a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Im not sure if the recipe was off, or i was. I was going to attempt this recipe because i didn't have the time to roll out a crust, it was a mistake. The crust was crunchy and overall not good. I had a feeling it wasn't going to turn out because of its strange appearance, but i didn't want to start over, so i went ahead and used it. Im thankful it set up, and the filling could carry it. But it was definitely not the best, im glad i tryed it out with the family before making it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Dough tasted bitter and was difficult to work with. Not the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Great pie crust! The only changed I made was to decease the salt to 1/2 tsp. I never liked to roll pie crust and discovered an easy method - put half of the dough on a silicone mat and then put plastic wrap (or another silicone mat) on top and roll to size. Then take off wrap and flip mat over pie pan and peel mat off. SOOOO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have never made a pie before and decided that if I was going to make pie from scratch I was going all the way. I found this recipe VERY easy to follow and didn't have any trouble at all with overworking it (as that seems to be the biggest reason my friends and family DON'T make their own crusts). Usually at my family gatherings there is always pie crust left on the plates once everyone has had their fill but not last night!! Even my super finicky brothers (who normally wouldn't have eaten any pie but I sort of didn't give them a choice. :) ) gobbled up every last bite AND went back for seconds! It was very moist and flaky and I didn't have any trouble with my fruit pies leaking through the bottom. I did only give this recipe 4 stars, however, because I wound up using ten tablespoons of water, not six. Having never made pie crust before I had no idea what to do with the crumbles I wound up with originally and it wasn't until I double checked other reviews that I knew to add more water. Otherwise, rave, rave, RAVE reviews from everyone at our Thanksgiving dinner last night. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I am not sure what I did wrong but it wouldn't roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
The recipe is fun and easy to mix. However, I chilled the crust before rolling it out for pies and was very frustrated trying to handle it. It kept falling apart (from my wooden rolling pin?)! I was nervous about how it would come out, but THEN I TASTED IT! This crust is slightly sweet, VERY flaky and soft. I love the recipe and will use it again, but with a diferent rolling technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Super tasty for open. To eliminate metallic taste, I used 1/2 tsp aluminum-free baking soda and 1 Tbs lime juice (added with water) ar a sub for baking powder. Even thick crusts taste flakey and bake all the way through. Didn't give the extra star because the dough was very difficult to roll and place in the pan. I couldn't use this crust for small, wrapped or closed pastries for fear it would fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akeakamai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States