Minute Tomato Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
The herbs were completely overpowering; they were all I tasted. I will have to work with this recipe to adapt it to my family's tastes. Great idea, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Very good. When I've served this I use more Tortellini than the recipe calls for and it is more of a side dish than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Very easy and very tasty. I added a touch of cayenne pepper to give it some zip. I recommend doubling it so you can have some left over. The original recipe only calls for half a tortellini package anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This recipe is delicious and freezes well. The spices really make it taste homemade. I used Barilla tortelloni, which I'm not hot about - I love Buitoni Mushrooms and Cheese Tortelloni and will try that next time instead. I also cooked the tortellini separately then added it in afterwards. I have a sneaking suspicion that if you use some chicken broth instead of water, that this could totally taste homemade. But everything worked well. I put everything into single serving containers then froze it for later. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This is a good simple recipe. I used a family size can of Campbells tomato soup added a package of fresh tortellini, italian seasoning and fresh basil, sprinkled with fresh mozarella and served with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I thoroughly enjoy this soup and make it often! I use the dry tortellini by Barilla which is inexpensive, tasty and doesn't expire quickly like the refrigerated kind. I have had better luck boiling the tortellini as directed on the package and then adding it to the soup when it's cooked. I also enjoy it with some fresh grated cheese on top. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I would leave out the herbs and just add tortellini to the soup. Herbs in the tomato soup just didn't mesh well at all. Tasted like a very watered down flavorless tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Everyone in my family really enjoyed this. The tortellini was a special treat for all but my 5 year old son who did not like it (the tortellini; he liked the soup itself). It was super easy and fast to make which is always good for last minute dinner ideas and lunches! I will make this again. I'll just keep more tortellini for the rest of us instead of giving it to my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This is pretty exceptional! I ended up using a 28oz can of condensed tomato soup, and ended up adding 2 to 2 1/2 teaspoons of each spice (I accidentally screwed up my conversions!) but the spice was not too much for me. I used a 1 kg bag of fresh cheese tortellini. This recipe took more like an hour to cook and prepare because the pasta was still leathery...but well worth the wait. Not much of a tomato soup fan but fantastic! Stirred in some fresh chopped onions when adding the spices...to add some crunch! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Great taste for a change of pace. It really spices up basic tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States