Minute Tomato Soup with Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This recipe is delicious and freezes well. The spices really make it taste homemade. I used Barilla tortelloni, which I'm not hot about - I love Buitoni Mushrooms and Cheese Tortelloni and will try that next time instead. I also cooked the tortellini separately then added it in afterwards. I have a sneaking suspicion that if you use some chicken broth instead of water, that this could totally taste homemade. But everything worked well. I put everything into single serving containers then froze it for later. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This is a good simple recipe. I used a family size can of Campbells tomato soup added a package of fresh tortellini, italian seasoning and fresh basil, sprinkled with fresh mozarella and served with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I thoroughly enjoy this soup and make it often! I use the dry tortellini by Barilla which is inexpensive, tasty and doesn't expire quickly like the refrigerated kind. I have had better luck boiling the tortellini as directed on the package and then adding it to the soup when it's cooked. I also enjoy it with some fresh grated cheese on top. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I would leave out the herbs and just add tortellini to the soup. Herbs in the tomato soup just didn't mesh well at all. Tasted like a very watered down flavorless tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Everyone in my family really enjoyed this. The tortellini was a special treat for all but my 5 year old son who did not like it (the tortellini; he liked the soup itself). It was super easy and fast to make which is always good for last minute dinner ideas and lunches! I will make this again. I'll just keep more tortellini for the rest of us instead of giving it to my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This is pretty exceptional! I ended up using a 28oz can of condensed tomato soup, and ended up adding 2 to 2 1/2 teaspoons of each spice (I accidentally screwed up my conversions!) but the spice was not too much for me. I used a 1 kg bag of fresh cheese tortellini. This recipe took more like an hour to cook and prepare because the pasta was still leathery...but well worth the wait. Not much of a tomato soup fan but fantastic! Stirred in some fresh chopped onions when adding the spices...to add some crunch! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Great taste for a change of pace. It really spices up basic tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
The kids loved this! It was very easy and actually pretty good. I used dried tortellini and boiled it in water for about 8 minutes before adding to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This recipe is really good and very easy. It tastes like it came from a gourmet shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was surprisingly good and very easy. We love tortellini so we'll eat it in anything. I added hot red pepper instead of black which was a little hot for me but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States