Minute Chocolate Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Just made this and absolutely loved it. Followed exact recipe except for the coconut and it came out perfect! Moist, fluffy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Perfect for one of those killer cravings or for a quickie dessert, but be very careful as to measure everything right or it will come out oddly, also be very precise when dividing the batter into the 2 cups. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melantha Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is the first time ever I have reviewed a recipe but this one is worthy of it! I am pregnant was craving a piece of chocolate cake without waiting 45 min for it. I don't know how all the ingredients come together so well in just 45 seconds but the taste and texture is so much like a "real" cake its mind boggling! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My first ever cake in a microwave recipe, And I made two batches in 10 minutes coz it finished soo quickly! The first time I followed the recipe exactly as above but didn't add the egg, because I didn't want to waste an egg, if the recipe didn't turn out right it would have ended up in the bin. The second time I also omitted the coconut and the almonds, I also put a little less cocoa powder and I think this second time round tastes waaay better! So no, don't add the egg, you don't need it. So try it out as a lazy dessert and enjoy! Because all my family members loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe easy to make. Made it for 5 of us and I only used 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I applaud you, Chef John, for giving us a recipe for something homemade, chocolate, using ingredients we keep around the house, and finished in less than 10 minutes. Maybe I shouldn't applaud you--I can tell you this will be made many times, and my waistline may protest, but with the ease and convenience of this cake, who cares? Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is perfect if there is too much to do to fuss and wait, but you're craving chocolate or don't want to run the oven on a hot summer day! I used almond milk instead of regular and just a small swig over the amount of vegetable oil, regular chocolate chips instead of mini (all I had but worked out fine) and added a few edible pearl cake decoration candies instead of almonds because I didn't have any of them either (I didn't add many though), and I added a little coffee extract to the chocolate batter. It took a little under a minute and a half in my microwave. It was so moist and it rose real well and didn't collapse after taking it out at all. So good topped with Friendly's butter crunch ice-cream!! Thanks Chef John, and you were right in the video...no hockey puck here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Really yummy! I tried other mug cakes and they weren't very good. I don't like shredded coconut, and I didn't have chocolate chips so I omitted those. I instead put in walnut chunks and the almonds. I also used a much bigger mug and it took about 75 seconds, but every microwave is different. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KieraG
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
By fat the BEST cake in a mug recipe I have found! I used splenda sugar mix (2 tablespoons), rather than pure sugar, to cut down on some of the calories. I also didn't have the nuts or coconut or enough chocolate chips, so I just used what I had on hand. DELICIOUS!!! My husband even loved it. He said this would be perfect with a scoop of ice cream on top- which we didn't have any of either. All in all excellent! Defiantly a keeper. Thanks chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I loved it! It was slightly spongy, but it's probably cos I cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States