Minute Chocolate Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My first ever cake in a microwave recipe, And I made two batches in 10 minutes coz it finished soo quickly! The first time I followed the recipe exactly as above but didn't add the egg, because I didn't want to waste an egg, if the recipe didn't turn out right it would have ended up in the bin. The second time I also omitted the coconut and the almonds, I also put a little less cocoa powder and I think this second time round tastes waaay better! So no, don't add the egg, you don't need it. So try it out as a lazy dessert and enjoy! Because all my family members loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I just made this. It was my first "microwave" cake recipe. It turned out really well. I didn't have coconut so I omitted that altogether. I used the rest of the recipe as is. I topped mine with vanilla frozen yogurt instead of icecream. I found that it needed a bit more sweetness in the cake itself but instead of adding sugar I'll be adding adding more chocolate chips and a maybe a tad bit less flour next time. Remember to mix the batter right before it goes in or the chocolate chips settle. Letting it cool is very important as it helps the heat distribute and finish up that cooking. Tips: Since you are making one at a time let it cool all the way and taste it. I added a bit of sugar to the batter before putting in my second one. You can adjust as you go based on your taste. Cup shape MATTERS. Using a wide cup will lead to too much exposed surface area and a crusty overcooked surface. Use something that is more cylindrical. Also some cups change width a lot from base to top. They don't allow for even cooking. Finally remember: it may not look as good as Chef John's but it'll still taste awesome. Let's hope Chef John comes out with a Brownie recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I'll give it this, it was a pretty good mug cake for the most part. The choc chips are totally unnecessary and made one of the cakes an oozy, nasty, undercooked, mess. I can totally live without this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is the first time ever I have reviewed a recipe but this one is worthy of it! I am pregnant was craving a piece of chocolate cake without waiting 45 min for it. I don't know how all the ingredients come together so well in just 45 seconds but the taste and texture is so much like a "real" cake its mind boggling! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is my first recipe rating...and just had to say YUM! It appeared to have a lot of ingredients, but some are just add-ins. My seven year old daughter and I made this for a quick dessert, and will now be adding it to our family recipe book! I added walnuts, white chocolate and coconut...easy and fast! Thanks for sharing and posting the video as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe easy to make. Made it for 5 of us and I only used 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I applaud you, Chef John, for giving us a recipe for something homemade, chocolate, using ingredients we keep around the house, and finished in less than 10 minutes. Maybe I shouldn't applaud you--I can tell you this will be made many times, and my waistline may protest, but with the ease and convenience of this cake, who cares? Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I used half & half instead of milk (didn't want to open a new jug just for 1/4 cup!) and added a bit of espresso powder and just a big more vanilla and omitted the almonds. Espresso powder really intensifies the chocolate flavor! The texture was amazingly good and wasn't at all dry. They definitely are not pretty, but after the first bite, does it really matter? LOL We drizzled ours with just a touch of half & half instead of the cocoa/powdered sugar and ice cream. Really good when you just need a chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I tried something like this before and it turned out horribly, so I was reluctant to try. But I'm glad I did! I didn't add the coconut or nuts and I accidentally put the baking powder in the chocolate mixture instead of the flour and it turned out just fine (score! 2 less dishes to wash). I had to bake mine for a minute because 45 seconds "seemed" like it wasn't cooked enough. It was a little dry, so perhaps I overcooked it a bit. I would definitely make this again and with some vanilla ice cream. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
just made this!! turned out great! I'd recommend adding a lot more choco chips! but all in all great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States