Minute Chocolate Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I just made this. It was my first "microwave" cake recipe. It turned out really well. I didn't have coconut so I omitted that altogether. I used the rest of the recipe as is. I topped mine with vanilla frozen yogurt instead of icecream. I found that it needed a bit more sweetness in the cake itself but instead of adding sugar I'll be adding adding more chocolate chips and a maybe a tad bit less flour next time. Remember to mix the batter right before it goes in or the chocolate chips settle. Letting it cool is very important as it helps the heat distribute and finish up that cooking. Tips: Since you are making one at a time let it cool all the way and taste it. I added a bit of sugar to the batter before putting in my second one. You can adjust as you go based on your taste. Cup shape MATTERS. Using a wide cup will lead to too much exposed surface area and a crusty overcooked surface. Use something that is more cylindrical. Also some cups change width a lot from base to top. They don't allow for even cooking. Finally remember: it may not look as good as Chef John's but it'll still taste awesome. Let's hope Chef John comes out with a Brownie recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Just made this and absolutely loved it. Followed exact recipe except for the coconut and it came out perfect! Moist, fluffy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is the first time ever I have reviewed a recipe but this one is worthy of it! I am pregnant was craving a piece of chocolate cake without waiting 45 min for it. I don't know how all the ingredients come together so well in just 45 seconds but the taste and texture is so much like a "real" cake its mind boggling! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I'll give it this, it was a pretty good mug cake for the most part. The choc chips are totally unnecessary and made one of the cakes an oozy, nasty, undercooked, mess. I can totally live without this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Not bad... still not as good as a regular cake. The texture is impossible to get right in the microwave. If you don't want to add the chocolate chips, you might need a little bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My first ever cake in a microwave recipe, And I made two batches in 10 minutes coz it finished soo quickly! The first time I followed the recipe exactly as above but didn't add the egg, because I didn't want to waste an egg, if the recipe didn't turn out right it would have ended up in the bin. The second time I also omitted the coconut and the almonds, I also put a little less cocoa powder and I think this second time round tastes waaay better! So no, don't add the egg, you don't need it. So try it out as a lazy dessert and enjoy! Because all my family members loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Really yummy! I tried other mug cakes and they weren't very good. I don't like shredded coconut, and I didn't have chocolate chips so I omitted those. I instead put in walnut chunks and the almonds. I also used a much bigger mug and it took about 75 seconds, but every microwave is different. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
It had wonderful ingredients, but was w....a....y too sweet for our family. Also it didn't firm up, as 'cake' in the 45 sec. Neat idea tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is a very nice mug cake recipe. I did not expect much from a microwave cake recipe. this one has to be one of the top rated in my book. Omitting the chocolate chips would be a bad idea they provide an additional lair flavor. I made this recipe in 4 inch ceramic tumblers, it worked very well for 47 seconds for the cook time. I serve them within 2 minutes of baking they were still doing and tasted really good with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe easy to make. Made it for 5 of us and I only used 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States