Minute Chocolate Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I applaud you, Chef John, for giving us a recipe for something homemade, chocolate, using ingredients we keep around the house, and finished in less than 10 minutes. Maybe I shouldn't applaud you--I can tell you this will be made many times, and my waistline may protest, but with the ease and convenience of this cake, who cares? Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I used half & half instead of milk (didn't want to open a new jug just for 1/4 cup!) and added a bit of espresso powder and just a big more vanilla and omitted the almonds. Espresso powder really intensifies the chocolate flavor! The texture was amazingly good and wasn't at all dry. They definitely are not pretty, but after the first bite, does it really matter? LOL We drizzled ours with just a touch of half & half instead of the cocoa/powdered sugar and ice cream. Really good when you just need a chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I tried something like this before and it turned out horribly, so I was reluctant to try. But I'm glad I did! I didn't add the coconut or nuts and I accidentally put the baking powder in the chocolate mixture instead of the flour and it turned out just fine (score! 2 less dishes to wash). I had to bake mine for a minute because 45 seconds "seemed" like it wasn't cooked enough. It was a little dry, so perhaps I overcooked it a bit. I would definitely make this again and with some vanilla ice cream. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I just tried this and a was surprised how easy and delicious it was. But it's thick like a brownie, have the ice cream on hand. Your taste buds will thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
just made this!! turned out great! I'd recommend adding a lot more choco chips! but all in all great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is my first recipe rating...and just had to say YUM! It appeared to have a lot of ingredients, but some are just add-ins. My seven year old daughter and I made this for a quick dessert, and will now be adding it to our family recipe book! I added walnuts, white chocolate and coconut...easy and fast! Thanks for sharing and posting the video as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe easy to make. Made it for 5 of us and I only used 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is a very nice mug cake recipe. I did not expect much from a microwave cake recipe. this one has to be one of the top rated in my book. Omitting the chocolate chips would be a bad idea they provide an additional lair flavor. I made this recipe in 4 inch ceramic tumblers, it worked very well for 47 seconds for the cook time. I serve them within 2 minutes of baking they were still doing and tasted really good with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
It had wonderful ingredients, but was w....a....y too sweet for our family. Also it didn't firm up, as 'cake' in the 45 sec. Neat idea tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Really yummy! I tried other mug cakes and they weren't very good. I don't like shredded coconut, and I didn't have chocolate chips so I omitted those. I instead put in walnut chunks and the almonds. I also used a much bigger mug and it took about 75 seconds, but every microwave is different. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States