Minute Chocolate Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
We made this with some friends and it was amazing!! We even made it gluten free like half the people were allergic to wheat and it was soooo good! The last thing anyone would expect was to make cake in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Loved this! Made it with my five year old as a quick fix when she requested chocolate cake. It was easy enough for her to make herself! I also subbed the milk with coffee mate 'Abuelita chocolate' creamer which gave this a great Mexican chocolate taste. My only issue was that it took longer than 45 seconds to cook, more like 1 min & 15s...although that may have been my error since I eyeballed my proportions and also used baking choc. In bar form. The baking choc turned out to be a happy accident though, because the extra choc sank to the bottom making it's own ganache. My daughter was thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I just blew my husband's mind. Thank you Chef John! I used 2 tablespoons of regular size semi sweet chips and cooked for 40 seconds in my microwave as it cooks hot. I didn't have ice cream, but I had one weight watchers variety of snickers ice cream bar so I cut it in half and threw that on top. I wouldn't like it without the ice cream, it needs that melty ice cream goodness. Just perfect for that sweet tooth craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made this gluten free and it was to die for! I used wholesome chow gluten free, high protein pancake mix for the flour and used coconut sugar instead of granulated sugar. I cooked 45 seconds like the recipe says. It may look undercooked but after letting it rest it was perfect. Moist, chocolatey and addictive! I will use more chocolate chips next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Chef jonh,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Unfortunately this didn't rise in the mug whatsoever, and I know it has nothing to do with my microwave--which is a shame because the actual mixture doesn't taste so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I loved it! It was slightly spongy, but it's probably cos I cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KieraG
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
By fat the BEST cake in a mug recipe I have found! I used splenda sugar mix (2 tablespoons), rather than pure sugar, to cut down on some of the calories. I also didn't have the nuts or coconut or enough chocolate chips, so I just used what I had on hand. DELICIOUS!!! My husband even loved it. He said this would be perfect with a scoop of ice cream on top- which we didn't have any of either. All in all excellent! Defiantly a keeper. Thanks chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Perfect for one of those killer cravings or for a quickie dessert, but be very careful as to measure everything right or it will come out oddly, also be very precise when dividing the batter into the 2 cups. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is perfect if there is too much to do to fuss and wait, but you're craving chocolate or don't want to run the oven on a hot summer day! I used almond milk instead of regular and just a small swig over the amount of vegetable oil, regular chocolate chips instead of mini (all I had but worked out fine) and added a few edible pearl cake decoration candies instead of almonds because I didn't have any of them either (I didn't add many though), and I added a little coffee extract to the chocolate batter. It took a little under a minute and a half in my microwave. It was so moist and it rose real well and didn't collapse after taking it out at all. So good topped with Friendly's butter crunch ice-cream!! Thanks Chef John, and you were right in the video...no hockey puck here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States