Minty Orzo Lentil and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by renee
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I love this dish and will definetly make it again. I made a few adjustments by omitting the olive oil entirely(I didn't think it was needed), used pitted sliced black olives, and adding a box of frozen spinach that I microwaved and squeezed all the fluid out of. I also found that I could serve this recipe warm, room temp, or cold. Yummy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I did not change anything and we just loved it. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I modified this recipe quite a bit - substituted parsley for mint (didn't have mint), used dried dill, used half of the oil, and added one cucumber and two tomatoes. I also added the juice of 1/2 lemon as another user suggested. Very flavorful, garlicy, fresh, Greek flavors. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This is an awesome salad! I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made it. The second time I made it I boiled the lentils for about 8 minutes, then added the orzo to the lentils and boiled for another 8 to 10 minutes. The only difference was that the orzo was a little darker, because it picked up the color of the lentils. But it saved me time and dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Different from other orzo salads I've made because of the mint and dill flavors, which worked nicely. I like that the lentils gives it some more texture and fiber. I cut way back on the oil and added some lemon juice for extra pizzazz! Also, I halved this and it still made a big bowlful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is delish!!!! Hainvg read other reviews, when I relised I was a bit short on orzo, I made up the 50g with quinoa - it gave just that little crunch. I also substitued goats cheese as I was out of fets, and the less salty but richer flavor was fantastic. Will definately do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was really tasty and so easy to make ahead of time. I offered warm whole wheat pitas with it for a dinner full of complete protein. I didn't even attempt to offer it to my 2 yo because I didn't think he'd like it. Well, he wanted to try it and LOVED it. I never thougt I would hear my toddler say "more lentils please". The next day I wrapped it in a whole wheat tortilla with cream cheese and he gobbled it down for lunch. I didn't change a thing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This was very good. I did make a few changes to suit my tastes and what I had on hand. I decided, after I had cooked up the lentils and seen how much there were, not to add all of them. I probably added about half of the cooked quantity. I had to improvise a little on my herbs since I was short on the dill and mint so I used the little bit of cilantro I had on hand. The only other changes I made were to omit the olives (don't like) and add a medium, unpeeled, seeded cucumber chopped. I also used tomato basil flavored feta cheese. When I served the salad I added some chopped tomato to each serving since tomato has a tendency to get funky in the fridge. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Yummy! Substituted Quinoa for the Orzo and it turned out great. We will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I tried to make this on a tight budget and it still worked out quite nice. Used half a large cucumber instead of the olives, a cheese very similar in texture to feta that they call 'Balkan cheese' here in the Czech Republic (much cheaper), a combination of white wine vinegar and balsamic vinegar to substitute for the red, and no onion because I am planning to take this to work for lunch during the week. Lots of small changes, but I don't think it affected the outcome negatively. The only thing that doesn't seem to fit perfectly with the idea is the orzo. I am wondering if rice or couscous would have worked better. Maybe next time. I had a bit of the salad at room temperature when it was ready, and I am hoping it will get even better after a day in the fridge. At the moment it's not mind-blowing but good enough to eat it for several days. I'd serve it to friends as a side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States