Minty Orzo Lentil and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by renee
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I love this dish and will definetly make it again. I made a few adjustments by omitting the olive oil entirely(I didn't think it was needed), used pitted sliced black olives, and adding a box of frozen spinach that I microwaved and squeezed all the fluid out of. I also found that I could serve this recipe warm, room temp, or cold. Yummy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I did not change anything and we just loved it. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I modified this recipe quite a bit - substituted parsley for mint (didn't have mint), used dried dill, used half of the oil, and added one cucumber and two tomatoes. I also added the juice of 1/2 lemon as another user suggested. Very flavorful, garlicy, fresh, Greek flavors. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This is an awesome salad! I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made it. The second time I made it I boiled the lentils for about 8 minutes, then added the orzo to the lentils and boiled for another 8 to 10 minutes. The only difference was that the orzo was a little darker, because it picked up the color of the lentils. But it saved me time and dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Different from other orzo salads I've made because of the mint and dill flavors, which worked nicely. I like that the lentils gives it some more texture and fiber. I cut way back on the oil and added some lemon juice for extra pizzazz! Also, I halved this and it still made a big bowlful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is delish!!!! Hainvg read other reviews, when I relised I was a bit short on orzo, I made up the 50g with quinoa - it gave just that little crunch. I also substitued goats cheese as I was out of fets, and the less salty but richer flavor was fantastic. Will definately do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was really tasty and so easy to make ahead of time. I offered warm whole wheat pitas with it for a dinner full of complete protein. I didn't even attempt to offer it to my 2 yo because I didn't think he'd like it. Well, he wanted to try it and LOVED it. I never thougt I would hear my toddler say "more lentils please". The next day I wrapped it in a whole wheat tortilla with cream cheese and he gobbled it down for lunch. I didn't change a thing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This was very good. I did make a few changes to suit my tastes and what I had on hand. I decided, after I had cooked up the lentils and seen how much there were, not to add all of them. I probably added about half of the cooked quantity. I had to improvise a little on my herbs since I was short on the dill and mint so I used the little bit of cilantro I had on hand. The only other changes I made were to omit the olives (don't like) and add a medium, unpeeled, seeded cucumber chopped. I also used tomato basil flavored feta cheese. When I served the salad I added some chopped tomato to each serving since tomato has a tendency to get funky in the fridge. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Yummy! Substituted Quinoa for the Orzo and it turned out great. We will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I tried to make this on a tight budget and it still worked out quite nice. Used half a large cucumber instead of the olives, a cheese very similar in texture to feta that they call 'Balkan cheese' here in the Czech Republic (much cheaper), a combination of white wine vinegar and balsamic vinegar to substitute for the red, and no onion because I am planning to take this to work for lunch during the week. Lots of small changes, but I don't think it affected the outcome negatively. The only thing that doesn't seem to fit perfectly with the idea is the orzo. I am wondering if rice or couscous would have worked better. Maybe next time. I had a bit of the salad at room temperature when it was ready, and I am hoping it will get even better after a day in the fridge. At the moment it's not mind-blowing but good enough to eat it for several days. I'd serve it to friends as a side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States