Minty Orzo Lentil and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Fantastic! A complex flavor. I added grape tomatoes sliced in half and it made this added to the visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was delicious! I omitted the olives and added lemon juice. I also used green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chetyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was really tasty and so easy to make ahead of time. I offered warm whole wheat pitas with it for a dinner full of complete protein. I didn't even attempt to offer it to my 2 yo because I didn't think he'd like it. Well, he wanted to try it and LOVED it. I never thougt I would hear my toddler say "more lentils please". The next day I wrapped it in a whole wheat tortilla with cream cheese and he gobbled it down for lunch. I didn't change a thing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I tried to make this on a tight budget and it still worked out quite nice. Used half a large cucumber instead of the olives, a cheese very similar in texture to feta that they call 'Balkan cheese' here in the Czech Republic (much cheaper), a combination of white wine vinegar and balsamic vinegar to substitute for the red, and no onion because I am planning to take this to work for lunch during the week. Lots of small changes, but I don't think it affected the outcome negatively. The only thing that doesn't seem to fit perfectly with the idea is the orzo. I am wondering if rice or couscous would have worked better. Maybe next time. I had a bit of the salad at room temperature when it was ready, and I am hoping it will get even better after a day in the fridge. At the moment it's not mind-blowing but good enough to eat it for several days. I'd serve it to friends as a side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Excellent! Used less olive oil and simmered the lentils in chicken stock. Otherwise, no changes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Really yummy! Made recipe just as written, it was delicious and even my mother in-law had a second helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This was very good. I did make a few changes to suit my tastes and what I had on hand. I decided, after I had cooked up the lentils and seen how much there were, not to add all of them. I probably added about half of the cooked quantity. I had to improvise a little on my herbs since I was short on the dill and mint so I used the little bit of cilantro I had on hand. The only other changes I made were to omit the olives (don't like) and add a medium, unpeeled, seeded cucumber chopped. I also used tomato basil flavored feta cheese. When I served the salad I added some chopped tomato to each serving since tomato has a tendency to get funky in the fridge. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
made this for a baby shower over the weekend. tasted good, but was alot of work - boiling, chopping, etc. and i agree with a previous post, that it was somewhat of an expensive pasta salad with kalamata olives, feta cheese, etc. undecided about making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I have made this twice now and it has come out delicious each time. It got rave reviews at a pot luck and it is was absolutely perfect, as I found that I had some orzo and lentils in the pantry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States