Minty Orzo Lentil and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Really tasty. I used french lentils (what I had on hand) and I used a mild feta cheese as opposed to a stronger feta. The milder feta cheese doesn't overpower the rest of the ingredients. I added lemon juice as others had suggested which brightened the flavor some. I think I used too much dill because it came out more dilly than minty. I guess I will adjust the amounts next time, even though I love dill, the mint didn't seem to come through. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was a great orzo salad! I followed the directions exactly and it came out fantastic. My husband really loved it too. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I made this last night following all the directions exactly except for that last one--refrigerate. I was hungry and impatient and I would have rated this a solid 4 stars while slightly warm. It was really good. But you know what's better? Following instructions. Absolutely 5 stars while cold. I might even change mine to refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is a great combination of flavors. I wouldn't have thought to put dill and mint together, but they work well. I flopped the amounts of the lentils and orzo (personal preference), then I discovered I didn't have any orzo, so I used barley instead, which worked out nicely. I also used shallot instead of red onion for a milder onion flavor. This is good both warm and cold, and it's very easy to put together. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good vegetarian dish. The flavors are strong, so it's not typical kid fare. (I'm a tough grader -- I've not given a 5 yet so don't let the 3 stars fool you.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fall City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was good as a summer vegetable salad. I changed it a bit, adding cucumber, yellow zucchini and cherry tomatoes. I also didn't have olives or feta, so I shredded a combination of asiago and parmesan cheeses and mixed it in at the end. The mint and dill were delicious and I loved the mix of orzo and lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was really delicious. I substituted chopped scallions for the red onion for a less intense onion flavor. The dill and mint work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this for a Memorial Day party. It was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe, but then realized how much preparation is involved and decided against it. However, they told me I have to make it for the 4th of July. I cooked the orzo and lentils a day in advance and threw it together 3 hours before our get together. The fresh herbs are a pain but worth it. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This salad is pretty good as is. After tasting it as written, I added some lemon juice and quite a bit of salt. It's also good warm--the feta turns it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very satisfying and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States