Minty Orzo Lentil and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Really tasty. I used french lentils (what I had on hand) and I used a mild feta cheese as opposed to a stronger feta. The milder feta cheese doesn't overpower the rest of the ingredients. I added lemon juice as others had suggested which brightened the flavor some. I think I used too much dill because it came out more dilly than minty. I guess I will adjust the amounts next time, even though I love dill, the mint didn't seem to come through. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was a great orzo salad! I followed the directions exactly and it came out fantastic. My husband really loved it too. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I made this last night following all the directions exactly except for that last one--refrigerate. I was hungry and impatient and I would have rated this a solid 4 stars while slightly warm. It was really good. But you know what's better? Following instructions. Absolutely 5 stars while cold. I might even change mine to refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is a great combination of flavors. I wouldn't have thought to put dill and mint together, but they work well. I flopped the amounts of the lentils and orzo (personal preference), then I discovered I didn't have any orzo, so I used barley instead, which worked out nicely. I also used shallot instead of red onion for a milder onion flavor. This is good both warm and cold, and it's very easy to put together. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good vegetarian dish. The flavors are strong, so it's not typical kid fare. (I'm a tough grader -- I've not given a 5 yet so don't let the 3 stars fool you.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fall City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was good as a summer vegetable salad. I changed it a bit, adding cucumber, yellow zucchini and cherry tomatoes. I also didn't have olives or feta, so I shredded a combination of asiago and parmesan cheeses and mixed it in at the end. The mint and dill were delicious and I loved the mix of orzo and lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was really delicious. I substituted chopped scallions for the red onion for a less intense onion flavor. The dill and mint work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this for a Memorial Day party. It was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe, but then realized how much preparation is involved and decided against it. However, they told me I have to make it for the 4th of July. I cooked the orzo and lentils a day in advance and threw it together 3 hours before our get together. The fresh herbs are a pain but worth it. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This salad is pretty good as is. After tasting it as written, I added some lemon juice and quite a bit of salt. It's also good warm--the feta turns it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very satisfying and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States