Minty Orzo Lentil and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This came out great! Great balance of flavors. I used a three-lentil blend. I was concerned when my lentils were a bit pastey but they broke up as I stirred everything together and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Just made this & it was so flavorful & delicious. Will definitely be making it again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Yummy! I had to sub dried dill since I didn't have fresh, which I'm sure would have been tastier, and added a wee bit of fresh parsley. Used fresh mint as recipe said, which is delicious. I only made half the recipe and other than following suggestion to add some fresh-squeezed lemon juice, pretty much followed as written. Would make again! May try adding cukes and tomatoes next time for more salad-y qualities. We ate this warmish. Also nice with chicken on the side. Hubby liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was good. Like everybody else I made adjustments for what I had on hand and personal taste. I cooked the lentils with half the garlic and some of the red onion and a bay leaf. I have to complain about the directions regarding the lentils. It just says to cover with water, well how much is that? I never cooked lentils before so I found that I had to keep adding water, so that was annoying. Made with couscous instead of orzo to be healthier. Added a little of celery, and used half white balsamic and half red wine vinegar. Used dry dill. When I served it, I added fresh tomatoes on top; will add cukes as well tonight. This recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this salad exactly as the recipe instructed. My entire family loved it and asked for the recipe. I will definitely be making it again. It is a perfect vegetarian supper idea. I was pleased to find kalamata olives in a jar already pitted. A quick trip to the fresh herb section in the grocery store and I had all of the other ingredients. I will be making it for company when they come since it is that delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
A really good, refreshing and good-for-you salad! I followed someone else's tip about partly cooking the lentils, adding the orzo and finish the two together. Less clean-up...always a good thing! I used French lentils, dill weed and 2 garlic cloves. I also omitted the onion, added chopped artichoke hearts (canned & well drained) and stirred Dijon mustard into the vinaigrette. Wasn't super-picky about measurements. I toasted some pine nuts and set them to the side for people to put on top if they liked. Many compliments & requests for the recipe. Made a ton, so that's what I'll have for supper tonight. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Didn't have mint, so substituted half parsley half basil and still turned out delicious. can't wait for it to chill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is such a wonderful, easily customizable recipe. I too change a few things around based on what I had at home: 1/2 orzo 1/2 quinoa (5/8 each), added turkey, cucumber, used balsamic vinegar, no olives, some lemon...it was just wonderful. Light and filling. Thank you for posting. I am going to be making this OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is excellent. I have made it for a lot of events now and it is always raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
FANTASTIC. I used Trader Joes already made lentils which cut down on time. Didn't cool orzo in fridge, just rinsed in cold water then combined with everything else. Added half a diced cucumber, a jar of rinsed sun dried tomatoes, used sliced black olives too. Used only about a TBS of olive oil total and squeezed a lemon in instead. Going to play with fresh tomatos and artichoke hearts next time. Super good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States