Minty Orzo Lentil and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This came out great! Great balance of flavors. I used a three-lentil blend. I was concerned when my lentils were a bit pastey but they broke up as I stirred everything together and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Just made this & it was so flavorful & delicious. Will definitely be making it again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Yummy! I had to sub dried dill since I didn't have fresh, which I'm sure would have been tastier, and added a wee bit of fresh parsley. Used fresh mint as recipe said, which is delicious. I only made half the recipe and other than following suggestion to add some fresh-squeezed lemon juice, pretty much followed as written. Would make again! May try adding cukes and tomatoes next time for more salad-y qualities. We ate this warmish. Also nice with chicken on the side. Hubby liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was good. Like everybody else I made adjustments for what I had on hand and personal taste. I cooked the lentils with half the garlic and some of the red onion and a bay leaf. I have to complain about the directions regarding the lentils. It just says to cover with water, well how much is that? I never cooked lentils before so I found that I had to keep adding water, so that was annoying. Made with couscous instead of orzo to be healthier. Added a little of celery, and used half white balsamic and half red wine vinegar. Used dry dill. When I served it, I added fresh tomatoes on top; will add cukes as well tonight. This recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this salad exactly as the recipe instructed. My entire family loved it and asked for the recipe. I will definitely be making it again. It is a perfect vegetarian supper idea. I was pleased to find kalamata olives in a jar already pitted. A quick trip to the fresh herb section in the grocery store and I had all of the other ingredients. I will be making it for company when they come since it is that delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
A really good, refreshing and good-for-you salad! I followed someone else's tip about partly cooking the lentils, adding the orzo and finish the two together. Less clean-up...always a good thing! I used French lentils, dill weed and 2 garlic cloves. I also omitted the onion, added chopped artichoke hearts (canned & well drained) and stirred Dijon mustard into the vinaigrette. Wasn't super-picky about measurements. I toasted some pine nuts and set them to the side for people to put on top if they liked. Many compliments & requests for the recipe. Made a ton, so that's what I'll have for supper tonight. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Didn't have mint, so substituted half parsley half basil and still turned out delicious. can't wait for it to chill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is such a wonderful, easily customizable recipe. I too change a few things around based on what I had at home: 1/2 orzo 1/2 quinoa (5/8 each), added turkey, cucumber, used balsamic vinegar, no olives, some lemon...it was just wonderful. Light and filling. Thank you for posting. I am going to be making this OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is excellent. I have made it for a lot of events now and it is always raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
FANTASTIC. I used Trader Joes already made lentils which cut down on time. Didn't cool orzo in fridge, just rinsed in cold water then combined with everything else. Added half a diced cucumber, a jar of rinsed sun dried tomatoes, used sliced black olives too. Used only about a TBS of olive oil total and squeezed a lemon in instead. Going to play with fresh tomatos and artichoke hearts next time. Super good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States