Minty Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was a very good recipe. I did decrease the amount of garlic, but added raisins which went wonderfully with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very nice. TIP: Those folks who find the garlic too strong; try poaching the cloves in the water with the beans. It will mellow the acidity, but you won't lose the health benefits of garlic. If you have a recipe with oil, try poaching in the oil (VERY low heat, please). the garlic should not color; this will make the garlic nutty and sweet. It only takes 1-2 tsp. This tip is from ATK's garlic mashed potato recipe. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Tasty. I cut down on the oil per some other reviewers' suggestion and quadrupled the mint. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Los Feliz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is a good, different green bean salad. I really liked the contrasting flavors of the vinegar dressing and the mint. After reading other reviews, I decided to saute the garlic and onion. I used all four cloves, and it wasn't overpowering at all. I also just lightly blanched the beans and didn't use the sugar. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This has such a fresh/sweet flavor. I love it. I didn't notice the garlic being too strong, but it didn't sit around too long either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was good, but not great. I took other reviewer's suggestions and cut the garlic down to 2 cloves, and added more mint. Upon tasting, I added extra vinegar. I think green onions instead of regular onion would have been better. It was nice for a change, but not sure I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I needed to add a little more vinegar. Just loved it. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
very tasty! Iused about 1/2 the garlic and that I thought was plenty. I also doubled the amount of mint. Be careful not to over cooked the beans> I think 6 to 7 mins. is long enough. I also used this as a cold bean salad. Which was delicious but make sure to cool beans befor adding ingred. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
You do taste the garlic in this recipe, but both my husband and I enjoyed the taste very much, and would rate this recipe very good. If I made any modifications, I'd increase the Mint leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
The beans and mint are nice together, but there is far too much oil and garlic in the recipe. I would cut the garlic in half and use less oil, this way the salad is less slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States