Minty Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I'm not a salad fan, so dishes like this aren't my favorite. But I made it for a big party. No one wanted to try it. So I brought it over to my aunts' and pretty much made them try it. It's interesting. Good. Not wow. The mint was really interesting. It was still savory but added a green taste, fresh, but not like mint gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was a very good recipe. I did decrease the amount of garlic, but added raisins which went wonderfully with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very nice. TIP: Those folks who find the garlic too strong; try poaching the cloves in the water with the beans. It will mellow the acidity, but you won't lose the health benefits of garlic. If you have a recipe with oil, try poaching in the oil (VERY low heat, please). the garlic should not color; this will make the garlic nutty and sweet. It only takes 1-2 tsp. This tip is from ATK's garlic mashed potato recipe. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Tasty. I cut down on the oil per some other reviewers' suggestion and quadrupled the mint. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Los Feliz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is a good, different green bean salad. I really liked the contrasting flavors of the vinegar dressing and the mint. After reading other reviews, I decided to saute the garlic and onion. I used all four cloves, and it wasn't overpowering at all. I also just lightly blanched the beans and didn't use the sugar. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This has such a fresh/sweet flavor. I love it. I didn't notice the garlic being too strong, but it didn't sit around too long either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was good, but not great. I took other reviewer's suggestions and cut the garlic down to 2 cloves, and added more mint. Upon tasting, I added extra vinegar. I think green onions instead of regular onion would have been better. It was nice for a change, but not sure I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I needed to add a little more vinegar. Just loved it. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
very tasty! Iused about 1/2 the garlic and that I thought was plenty. I also doubled the amount of mint. Be careful not to over cooked the beans> I think 6 to 7 mins. is long enough. I also used this as a cold bean salad. Which was delicious but make sure to cool beans befor adding ingred. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
You do taste the garlic in this recipe, but both my husband and I enjoyed the taste very much, and would rate this recipe very good. If I made any modifications, I'd increase the Mint leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States