Minty Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I'm not a salad fan, so dishes like this aren't my favorite. But I made it for a big party. No one wanted to try it. So I brought it over to my aunts' and pretty much made them try it. It's interesting. Good. Not wow. The mint was really interesting. It was still savory but added a green taste, fresh, but not like mint gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was a very good recipe. I did decrease the amount of garlic, but added raisins which went wonderfully with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very nice. TIP: Those folks who find the garlic too strong; try poaching the cloves in the water with the beans. It will mellow the acidity, but you won't lose the health benefits of garlic. If you have a recipe with oil, try poaching in the oil (VERY low heat, please). the garlic should not color; this will make the garlic nutty and sweet. It only takes 1-2 tsp. This tip is from ATK's garlic mashed potato recipe. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Tasty. I cut down on the oil per some other reviewers' suggestion and quadrupled the mint. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Los Feliz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is a good, different green bean salad. I really liked the contrasting flavors of the vinegar dressing and the mint. After reading other reviews, I decided to saute the garlic and onion. I used all four cloves, and it wasn't overpowering at all. I also just lightly blanched the beans and didn't use the sugar. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This has such a fresh/sweet flavor. I love it. I didn't notice the garlic being too strong, but it didn't sit around too long either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was good, but not great. I took other reviewer's suggestions and cut the garlic down to 2 cloves, and added more mint. Upon tasting, I added extra vinegar. I think green onions instead of regular onion would have been better. It was nice for a change, but not sure I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I needed to add a little more vinegar. Just loved it. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
very tasty! Iused about 1/2 the garlic and that I thought was plenty. I also doubled the amount of mint. Be careful not to over cooked the beans> I think 6 to 7 mins. is long enough. I also used this as a cold bean salad. Which was delicious but make sure to cool beans befor adding ingred. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
You do taste the garlic in this recipe, but both my husband and I enjoyed the taste very much, and would rate this recipe very good. If I made any modifications, I'd increase the Mint leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States