Mint Pesto Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was good, quite similar to regular pesto. I left the chopped tomatoes out of the food processor and just stirred them into the pesto before serving. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I would recommend making this only with homegrown tomatoes, as it needs the extra flavour. Like another reviewer, I also didn't add the chopped tomatoes to the pesto in the food processor and instead just spooned them on top of the pasta mixed with the pesto. Other recommendations- add fresh or dried oregano for extra flavour, use rigatoni instead of linguini, as it's easier to stir and eat, and add a little extra water to make the pesto mixture more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRICIAJONES
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
My first time making fresh pesto- loved using fresh herbs. Also used homegrown tomatoes. I liked it the most, probably because I got to enjoy the scents as I made it. My husband said it was just okay, that it needed more olive oil for flavor (I thought it could use more garlic). BUT the kids wouldn't touch it. I guess is will take them some time to get used to fresh herbs rather than sauce out of a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was the best pesto recipe I've seen so far. I went to my local farmer's market to buy the freshest organic ingredients, and followed the recipe precisely. My family loved it. I will most definitely make this again. I think the ricotta added a nice texture and flavor. Next time I may refrigerate the blend overnite to enhance the flavor for the following day. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Really tasty, esp. after we heated it up again and added (plain) chicken breast chunks. I didn't seed the tomatoes, all I could find was dry mint leaves and I also added more ricotta and a lot more parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was really good! It didn't note the size of tomatoes though. I only needed 3 large tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anndria Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I like that it was creamy, however I didn't have any ricotta so I just used cream cheese. I think adding some fresh salmon and peas would be good. I will try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.brettero

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Pesto sure has come a long way from the usual suspects of basil, pine nuts and Parm; now pestos are made from a myriad of ingredients ... and I'm not complaining. While basil itself is so summery and fresh, the addition of mint in this creamy pesto is a brilliant way to add some zing and liveliness and works especially well with tomatoes. One minor caveat - this recipe appears to have been re-created like most of us cook, using a 'handful of these' and a 'few of those' as measurements instead of precise amounts (my 20 basil leaves were on the skimpy side as I had just cut back and stripped the plant earlier in the week, so I knew I needed to supplement with store-bought leaves). No matter, though, the end result was delicious and proclaimed a winner by all who tasted it ~ many thanks to MASTER815K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly but added pork chops and served with garlic bread. I made the sauce a few hours before hand to let the flavours blend, annd I put the sauce over the linguinie in a wok and mixed it up to let the sauce heat up again. I served it to my hubby and a girlfriend who was visiting from out of town and we all agreed that it was lacking some major flavour! I definately reccomend adding much more garlic, basil, mint, salt, and pepper as this was quite bland as is! I fully expected "knock your socks off flavour" and it was far from that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tys-ol-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olds, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Great basic recipe. You can play with the amounts of basil, mint, tomatoes to suit your own taste! Can't use nut...so I just omitted...would love to know a good pine nut sub...that's not another nut. Tried sesame seeds...not a good flavor for this or other pesto recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States