Mint Pesto Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was the best pesto recipe I've seen so far. I went to my local farmer's market to buy the freshest organic ingredients, and followed the recipe precisely. My family loved it. I will most definitely make this again. I think the ricotta added a nice texture and flavor. Next time I may refrigerate the blend overnite to enhance the flavor for the following day. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was good, quite similar to regular pesto. I left the chopped tomatoes out of the food processor and just stirred them into the pesto before serving. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Pesto sure has come a long way from the usual suspects of basil, pine nuts and Parm; now pestos are made from a myriad of ingredients ... and I'm not complaining. While basil itself is so summery and fresh, the addition of mint in this creamy pesto is a brilliant way to add some zing and liveliness and works especially well with tomatoes. One minor caveat - this recipe appears to have been re-created like most of us cook, using a 'handful of these' and a 'few of those' as measurements instead of precise amounts (my 20 basil leaves were on the skimpy side as I had just cut back and stripped the plant earlier in the week, so I knew I needed to supplement with store-bought leaves). No matter, though, the end result was delicious and proclaimed a winner by all who tasted it ~ many thanks to MASTER815K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Really tasty, esp. after we heated it up again and added (plain) chicken breast chunks. I didn't seed the tomatoes, all I could find was dry mint leaves and I also added more ricotta and a lot more parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I would recommend making this only with homegrown tomatoes, as it needs the extra flavour. Like another reviewer, I also didn't add the chopped tomatoes to the pesto in the food processor and instead just spooned them on top of the pasta mixed with the pesto. Other recommendations- add fresh or dried oregano for extra flavour, use rigatoni instead of linguini, as it's easier to stir and eat, and add a little extra water to make the pesto mixture more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I like that it was creamy, however I didn't have any ricotta so I just used cream cheese. I think adding some fresh salmon and peas would be good. I will try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Roth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly but added pork chops and served with garlic bread. I made the sauce a few hours before hand to let the flavours blend, annd I put the sauce over the linguinie in a wok and mixed it up to let the sauce heat up again. I served it to my hubby and a girlfriend who was visiting from out of town and we all agreed that it was lacking some major flavour! I definately reccomend adding much more garlic, basil, mint, salt, and pepper as this was quite bland as is! I fully expected "knock your socks off flavour" and it was far from that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tys-ol-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olds, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was really good! It didn't note the size of tomatoes though. I only needed 3 large tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anndria Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRICIAJONES
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
My first time making fresh pesto- loved using fresh herbs. Also used homegrown tomatoes. I liked it the most, probably because I got to enjoy the scents as I made it. My husband said it was just okay, that it needed more olive oil for flavor (I thought it could use more garlic). BUT the kids wouldn't touch it. I guess is will take them some time to get used to fresh herbs rather than sauce out of a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe very much. A lively & light summer pasta. I used a lighter Bowtie pasta cooked in chicken broth. I was so excited to make it that I used cream cheese rather than going to store for ricotta. I will definitely make this again. Thanks MASTER815K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States