Mint Juleps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
In a pinch, this method of making the syrup will do, but I've found it's much better if you can only bruise the mint leaves (rather than chopping them)--they're much easier to remove from the syrup, and the flavor still infuses well. Also, the mint is a bit better if you can let the syrup rest overnight with the mint in it (covered in the fridge).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Ah yes, it's almost time for the Kentucky Derby again and while I don't have silver goblets I do make sure to chill my glasses, get fresh mint, pick up some good Kentucky bourbon and place my bets every year without fail. The first mint julep I had was actually at the Kentucky Derby and I'll never forget it. This recipe is pretty close but nothing will ever compare to one you actually have at the Derby. I don't chop up all the mint, I leave some for garnish. You can make this syrup ahead of time and store it in the fridge which is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is so good. The fresh mint really makes it great. Very sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
First a recommendation- I only serve my juleps with Woodford Reserve. I came across it at a bourbon tasting and fell in love, and since then have seen it umpteen times used in varying recipes in Southern Living mag. It's VERY smooth. I have my own style of preparing this. I pack around 1 cup of fresh mint leaves in to a clean glass jar and bruise the leaves by smushing them up against the sides of the jar with a wooden spoon. After the sugar syrup is cooked I pour it in to the jar, smuch some more but not hard enough to create too many bits of leaf debris, close the lid, cool on the counter then chill in the fridge overnight (in a pinch I've given it an ice bath!). When chilled I drain the mixture through cheesecloth, remove the leaves and either pour it back in to the glass jar or in to a condiment style squeeze bottle. I get tremendous reviews making it this way and serving it with the Woodford and even non-bourbon drinkers enjoy it. Lastly- TRY MAKING THIS WITH BASIL instead of mint! I saw a recipe for it in SL and my f=husband and friends practically BEG me for it all year long! I use fresh basil straight from the garden and otherwise make it the exact same way. It's not as sweet and is incredibly refreshing! I've also recently had a Lemongrass julep (same deal, just use lemongrass instead of basil or mint) and a mint-ginger julep. The ginger gave a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Decided to start on my Derby celebrations a little early this year, and found this recipe. Lovely! So much easier than mixing each julep by hand. I plan on keeping the mint syrup around - it will be good in iced tea, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
PERRRRRRRFECT. It's become a favorite among my friends and I and it's quite easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This recipe is great, even my grandmother, who doesn't like hard liquor very much, enojyed the mint julep I made for her. I also like experimenting with different types of sugar, such as "Sugar in the Raw", for a varied taste. Another hint I like is to garnish with some powdered sugar. It makes it look lovely, and also gives it some extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I'm not sure if I'm fairly rating this recipe because it may well be fantastic considering what it's supposed to be but....wowsa was this strong!!! No matter how much I tried to dilute it, I kept flashing back to my college days. I just couldn't drink this, nor could my husband who has a WAY WAY higher tolerance than me for alcohol. Too strong!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
These were the rave at our Kentucky Derby Party! I probably added a little more of the simple sugar to each drink... but loved them! Thanks for sharing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I have never tried a Mint Julep previously, but this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mint Juleps

An icy cold bourbon cocktail with fresh mint and mounds of crushed ice.

Mint Julep Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix up a classic Mint Julep.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States