Mint Juleps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Loved the suggestion of using simple syrup! Fantastic summer drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Maybe because I grew up on the Gulf Coast and not in Kentucky, but I was taught to make it with clear rum. I didn't like the bourbon flavor. If you don't like bourbon try it with rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
First a recommendation- I only serve my juleps with Woodford Reserve. I came across it at a bourbon tasting and fell in love, and since then have seen it umpteen times used in varying recipes in Southern Living mag. It's VERY smooth. I have my own style of preparing this. I pack around 1 cup of fresh mint leaves in to a clean glass jar and bruise the leaves by smushing them up against the sides of the jar with a wooden spoon. After the sugar syrup is cooked I pour it in to the jar, smuch some more but not hard enough to create too many bits of leaf debris, close the lid, cool on the counter then chill in the fridge overnight (in a pinch I've given it an ice bath!). When chilled I drain the mixture through cheesecloth, remove the leaves and either pour it back in to the glass jar or in to a condiment style squeeze bottle. I get tremendous reviews making it this way and serving it with the Woodford and even non-bourbon drinkers enjoy it. Lastly- TRY MAKING THIS WITH BASIL instead of mint! I saw a recipe for it in SL and my f=husband and friends practically BEG me for it all year long! I use fresh basil straight from the garden and otherwise make it the exact same way. It's not as sweet and is incredibly refreshing! I've also recently had a Lemongrass julep (same deal, just use lemongrass instead of basil or mint) and a mint-ginger julep. The ginger gave a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Yipes! i hate to leave a bad review but I wouldn't recommend it - so thick and wayyyy too strong (and that's after i cut the bourbon by half!. Not for the weak of heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a good recipe, I made the following changes since I was having Juleps for a crowd. After syrup cools, I submerged an entire bunch of mint and let it sit overnight. Then remove the whole bunch and toss it. Put bourbon in a glass pitcher (add a 1/2 or 1 cup more if you like it a little stronger). Then add the minted sugar syrup and still Frig it over night if possible to let flavors melt. Pour this mix over crushed ice, and finish per the recipe. So much easier than portioning out bourbon and syrup. The additional cup of syrup can make another batch for you party, or save for future fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These are too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Meece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
First Class mint juleps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Just like I learned to make in Kentucky, silver goblet and all. I live in Texas now but love a Mint Julep on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catahoulagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have never had a mint julep before, so I have nothing to compare this recipe to ... I found this drink quite sweet for my taste. I'll have to adjust how much syrup I use next time. Secondly, WOW were these strong. I guess that can be a good thing, depending on what you're looking for. I did bruise the mint leaves in the 2 cups of water before I simmered the water, sugar and mint, as another reviewer suggested. I didn't need a strainer because the mint leaves were large enough to be removed by hand with a fork. Also, I added a few freshly torn mint leaves to each glass, in addition to a mint sprig, for extra "raw mint" flavor. Very refreshing, and pretty too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mint Juleps

An icy cold bourbon cocktail with fresh mint and mounds of crushed ice.

Mint Julep Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix up a classic Mint Julep.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States